Blogoversary Contest

July 27, 2009

Last week I talked about different contests I’ve won and held, and the odds of winning. I promised a contest to celebrate my first blogoversary, featuring 2 in 21 odds.

Here we go!

There are two ways you can participate in this contest. You can go through each of the options, carefully reading the song lyrics and trying to select the best one (don’t worry, only a couple of songs are in French). Or, you can randomly pick one.

I’ve posted at various times about songs and bands that I like, especially when songs speak to me on an emotional level. I haven’t yet mentioned one of my favorite bands, Arcade Fire, nor my favorite of their songs. That song speaks to me more than any other on an emotional level, specifically about infertility.

Your job: figure out which song it is.

I’ve listed all of the songs on their two studio albums, with links to the lyrics and videos if you’d like to make an informed choice. They have quite a few other great songs on EPs, B-sides, etc., but I’ll be nice to you and stick with the albums.

First prize will go to the person who selects the song that sums up many of my feelings about infertility. Pottery prize.

Second prize will go to the person who selects the other song that has some strong infertility content for me. Different pottery prize.

One guess per person.

Edited to add: To help you avoid repeating others’ guesses, I’ll cross out the numbers of songs that have been guessed by someone else. Wow, you people really prefer Funeral to Neon Bible. Hint: The two winning songs are on different albums.

Funeral (read all lyrics; for music/video, click on each song title)
A1 “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)”
A2 “Neighborhood #2 (Laïka)”
A3 “Une année sans lumière”
A4 “Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)”
A5 “Neighborhood #4 (7 Kettles)”
A6 “Crown of Love”
A7 “Wake Up”
A8 “Haïti”
A9 “Rebellion (Lies)”
A10 “In the Backseat”

Neon Bible (read all lyrics; for music/video, click on each song title)
B1 “Black Mirror”
B2 “Keep the Car Running”
B3 “Neon Bible”
B4 “Intervention”
B5 “Black Wave/Bad Vibrations”
B6 “Ocean of Noise”
B7 “The Well and the Lighthouse”
B8 “(Antichrist Television Blues)”
B9 “Windowsill”
B10 “No Cars Go”
B11 “My Body Is a Cage”

Have fun!

21 Responses to “Blogoversary Contest”


  1. Well aren’t you the creative one? 🙂 Pretty cool contest, my dear, pretty cool.

  2. Kristin Says:

    I think it is the last song on the second album “My Body Is A Cage”

  3. Jules Says:

    Hmmmmm tough call.

    Think I’m going with “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)”

  4. Carrie Says:

    OHMYGOSH I love the Arcade Fire and am going to re-listen and then will submit my answer. FUN! 🙂 More contests like this for the bed rest set, please!

  5. birdless Says:

    Hi. I’m a lurker, so you don’t have to enter me into your contest, but I wanted to guess anyway. I guess “Neighborhood #4”.

    I like your blog. 🙂

  6. Carrie Says:

    Okay, I am back. After reviewing AF on both albums (I have memorized Neon Bible) I am going to have to say “Wake Up”. It was a tough call, though, as one of my IF sons is “No Cars Go”.

    Good taste in music you have. 🙂

  7. Cindy Says:

    A10…in the back seat…because your blog is called “baby smiling in the back seat”…

    How’s that for logic?

    🙂

  8. Mel Says:

    Une Année Sans Lumière–though I am basing it on gut.

    Though that’s not the backseat whence the title comes.

    Cake!

  9. Mel Says:

    And after I said that aloud, Josh said, “isn’t it Radiohead.”

    Doh!


  10. Oh man, I wish I had time to review my AF albums. At the very least, this has inspired me to listen to both albums in full the next time I have a chance. This is a really weak guess, but I’m going to go with “Neighborhood (Power Out)” b/c you had to deal with the big snow storm power outtage while going through a round of IVF if I remember right. Plus, it’s one of the songs that you guessed correctly for my Guess the Random Lyric contest. That seems so long ago now — and yes I’m up this late, b/c I just got done nursing.

  11. Rebecca Says:

    I think it’s Black Mirror.

  12. Sam Says:

    I’m going to guess “Wake Up”.
    Great contest!

  13. Blur Says:

    I’m gonna guess “Crown of Love”


  14. I’m going to choose “The Well and the Lighthouse”.

  15. S Says:

    Not sure if you could ship pottery here anyway, but I’m going to guess for FUN.

    “Intervention” and “Neon Bible” strike me the most – equally. “A vial of hope and a vial of pain” – IUIs perhaps? Sigh.

    And “rebellion(lies)”.

    Choice: “Neon Bible.”

    Now I’m going to listen to them! =)

  16. WiseGuy Says:

    My guess would be: Keep the Car Running/Neon Bible.

    I had never heard of Arcade Fire…atleast not till now….but thanks for introducing me to them…

  17. jill Says:

    My guess is “Ocean of Noise” for a few reasons but most of all this lyric:

    I’m gonna work it out
    ‘Cause time won’t work it out

    speaks to me of the choice to use ART.

  18. Kymberli Says:

    My guess is Rebellion. That song and Intervention both had lines that called to my infertile side of mind.

    I love that you have “infertility music.” I also have a range of songs from back when I was still trying to conceive that speak to me in the same way.

    Happy blogoversary!

  19. Cara Says:

    Ok…I’m heeeere!!!

    And, in my typical driveby fashion I’m randomly going with B9!

    I sure have missed you!! – cara

  20. Lavender Luz Says:

    I say A8, “Haiti” because I know you have a love of places, and because I’ve actually heard this song (and like it).

    And dang, Cassandra, that’s a LOT of linking!


  21. OK, I’m giving it a try!

    My guesses are: A2 “Neighborhood #2 (Laïka)”
    Good luck to everyone!


Please leave a reply

