Show and Tell: Odds

July 22, 2009

Show and TellI’ve been quite lucky lately. Aside from the whole getting pregnant thing, I’ve also won several contests online. Let’s review, with an eye toward the odds in each contest.

In February, as I have mentioned before, I won a handmade pillow when Kristin‘s car needed a name and I suggested “Manatee”. There were four people who made suggestions, with one entry each for the two prizes, meaning the odds were 2 in 8. Those familiar with 4th grade fractions will realize that 2 in 8 reduces to 1 in 4, but I think the true odds were still 2 in 8 because one person could theoretically have won both prizes. This contest was merit-based rather than random, though, so the true odds may have been different.
bug

In April, I won a gift certificate for maternity clothing from Sticky Feet. Winning is a relative term, since I received a gift certificate for $50 then spent another $200 of my own money — it was pretty exciting to buy maternity clothes after so many years. (Apropos of the Thoughtful Thursday about doing it all from a couple of weeks ago, she is currently giving away a book on “Momnificent” balanced living.) My odds of winning that contest were 2 in 29.
(Out of respect for those who aren’t in a place to see such things, as a policy I am not posting belly shots in the body of a post — and in fact haven’t taken any at all so far during this pregnancy — but if you really want to see a faceless version of me wearing some of the clothes, go ahead.)

In May, I won a pair of adorable baby booties. I first entered a contest on Cool Mom Picks, where I was one of probably thousands of entries, then also entered a contest on the knitter’s blog, where I was 1 of 28.
booties

In June, I won a bunch of YoBaby Yogurt, a bib, and a bowl from Gotcha Baby. Since the vouchers for the yogurt will expire before my babies are eating solids, I’ll have to eat the yogurt myself. Unlike yogurt, the bib and the bowl will keep until the babies are old enough to eat solids. Odds of winning that contest were 1 in 7.
yobaby

Why am I telling you about the odds? Because I have a new contest coming soon: a Blogoversary contest! Because it was my Blogoversary two days ago!

Unlike the lottery, which I am too math-knowledgeable to ever play, blog contests tend to have excellent odds. All of my past contests have had excellent odds:

Bridge contest (which started an online and now IRL friendship between Lori and me, and also won her a vase): I didn’t set the odds in advance; 5 people guessed, though if a correct answer hadn’t happened, more guesses would have kept coming, but basically 1 in 5 (required actual knowledge of geography)
Prize for Lori

Guess the Size of Lori’s Vase Contest, in which Wishing4One won her own tiny vase despite being 250% off in her guess: 1 in 3 (required picking a number)
Second Prize

Creme Contest, for which Kathy won a bowl: After no one guessed correctly the first time, I reset the odds at 1 in 10 (required some combination of thinking and picking a number)
Bowl

Dirty Laundry Contest, in which Neeta won her choice of artwork from Wall Blank: Odds preset at 1 in 11 (required picking a number)

Holy Fucking Shit Contest, a.k.a. Guess the First Beta, in which Fattykins got to pick anything I could carry back from Spain and chose pottery: 1 in 32 (required picking a number)
Vase for Fattykins

Guess the Second Beta Contest, in which Julia won a bowl that I didn’t manage to photograph before mailing: 1 in 13 (required picking a number)

The upcoming contest will have preset odds of 2 in 21 (two prizes available, mostly involving picking a number but some knowledge/thinking would be helpful). The prizes will be pottery that I made. One will be similar (though not identical, because identical work is impossible and undesirable with this style of pottery) to the dish that I gave Lori. That winner will have a choice of colors, in case they aren’t a fan of yellow and brown.
Dish
The other prize will be regular pottery, assuming next week’s glaze fire doesn’t end in catastrophe — if it does, I will be very sad, but I do have some other pottery stockpiled, so the second winner will get something good, not an exercise in Zen.

For those of us who have been screwed over repeatedly by the odds of successful reproduction, 2 in 21 is pretty good. Stay tuned!

In the meantime, see what else is going on at Show and Tell.

16 Responses to “Show and Tell: Odds”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Congrats on all the contests you’ve won (I’ve been on a roll lately too). I love your pottery so I will definitely enter your contest.

  2. Kerri Says:

    Wow- you really have won a lot! You might’ve just inspired me to actually start entering contests!! Sorry to hear about the pelvic rest but I’m glad you get a break from it for a while. The thought of someone buying condoms while pregnant is a bit ironic though. Can’t wait to hear how that goes!
    -ICLW

  3. trish Says:

    Congratulations of your prize winning …I love winning prizes too.
    Congratulations on your twin pregnancy.I am a twin mummy of boys (now 3yrs)
    hi, I am visiting from ICLW…No. 50 to say hello and to check out your blog.
    My Little Drummer Boys

  4. sassy Says:

    Those vases are beautiful – I live in a region in France that has a lot of pottery as well and I am obsessed!!

  5. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Love the belly pic. And you were correct, you really have long hair! Guess they were wet, when you clicked the snap?

    I too have won in several giveaways….Kekis, Kristin, Sassycupcakes,cappyprincess…yes, I won there!

    Guess your contest will coincide with the first blogoversary, right?

  6. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    …and I came to the number that said it was you, and how could I not wave by!

    Happy ICLW!

  7. liddy Says:

    Congrats on the contests. Want to send me some luck for a pie baking contest I am in this weekend?

    I LOVE the vases.

    Stopping by for an ICLW visit…
    No. 95: The Unfair Struggle (male-factor infertility, good friends, neighborhood rumblings)

  8. Grace Says:

    Wow, you’re super lucky! I have giveaways on my blog from time to time (one for yarn right now), but never win anything on anybody else’s, odds be damned.

    *ICLW*


  9. Congrats on all of your winnings! And your blogoversary.

    Your hair is SO beautiful, as is your belly! Hope you’re feeling well.
    *HUGS*

  10. becomingwhole Says:

    You lucky-duck, you! Congratulations on all your luckiness!

  11. Chelle Says:

    You know, I have not yet entered a blog contest yet? I look forward to yours!!

    Love the pic, btw!

  12. Traci Says:

    Very cool pottery. I’m glad you win all these things because someone has to offset my terrible luck. HA! Maybe I’ll break the charm with your next contest.

  13. Cara Says:

    Jeez girl…I’m hoping, wishing, dreaming of one of your pieces!!!

    You make GORGEOUS stuff and – whatever the odds – I know it will be fun!


  14. coming from an “I Never Win Anything” person, this is pretty impressive.

    Happy (upcoming) blogoversary!

  15. tomi Says:

    That pair of baby booties are so cute!

    I have thought of making a pair for a friend’s baby but had to give up because I can’t knit to save my life (etsy is my friend ;))

    *iclw*


  16. How did I miss this two years ago? Especially since I’m mentioned??

    I love my winnings. Still.

    I think/hope you’ve won something from my blogs in the meantime. Did the package ever get to you?


Please leave a reply

