Perfect Moment Monday: Back in the Saddle

June 8, 2009

It has literally been almost a year since I’ve properly worked in the pottery studio, partly because work obligations have precluded attending my usual class and partly because the Great Pottery Catastrophe of 2008 took the wind out of my sails. I did take one class in a very different technique, but I haven’t sat down at the wheel in far too long. I’d been toying with the idea of building a studio in my home, but once I learned that I was finally pregnant, I decided that it should wait (high startup costs + toxic chemicals + 2000 degree heat = not great with curious little ones running around). My pottery pursuit was put on indefinite hiatus.

Last week I got an email about a summer pottery class with a new teacher (one who was not implicated in the Great Catastrophe). I wanted very much to take the class, but I decided that I shouldn’t because it’s not a good idea to do pottery while I’m pregnant. It’s a great hobby for infertiles, but not as good for pregnant women, between the chemicals used in the glaze and the physical strain of certain tasks. Plenty of women are able to continue pottery throughout pregnancy, but since twin pregnancy is higher-risk than most, I thought that it would be prudent for me to opt out. This sensible decision made me sad, because I miss pottery a lot, but I’ll do anything to keep these babies safe.

I mentioned this to my husband. He said, “You should take the class! You can stay away from the chemicals and modify things to take it easy. It will be a long time before you can do it again. For once, we won’t be traveling much so you’ll actually be in town for most of the classes. Pottery makes you happy.”

His optimistic clarity was one perfect moment; I foresee many more perfect moments to come — starting with my first class tomorrow!


Perfect Moment
Lori from Weebles Wobblog is in charge of Perfect Moment Mondays. And she’s up for a blog award for being so inspiring — vote early and often!

6 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Back in the Saddle”

  1. Lavender Luz Says:

    You have your pottery and Chicklet has her running. You both have passion and very good sense.

    We all win when you do pottery — think of the Show & Tell posts that will ensue!

    Thanks so much for the shout out!


  2. Have fun with your class tomorrow! I’m so glad you’re getting back into it! 🙂

  3. Eve Says:

    Oh how fun! I took pottery when I was in college. I wasn’t a natural at the wheel at ALLLLLL! LOL, I do have a very small and yet perfect bowl sitting in this very room from that venture that really only serves as a ring dish. Anything bigger that I made either had slab-thick sides or was lopsided…and they all were given away as Christmas presents with candles stuck in the middle!!!

    So glad you are doing this for yourself. Yes, you are going to be mighty busy soon…so this is the PERFECT time!

  4. strongblonde Says:

    yea! i think this is a great idea. i have been considering prenatal yoga, but have not registered or anything.

    when are you going to take any infant/birthing/etc classes?

  5. Dora Says:

    Sorry I’ve been such a terrible commenter lately.

    I totally agree with hubby. You’ll know when to be cautious. Enjoy yourself! Looking forward to pics of your latest creations.


  6. I totally agree with your husband. You can figure out the chemicals and you need your relaxing hobbies more than ever now. Do it now, b/f you get too big/tired to want to do it. If I had the second tri to do all over again, I would’ve totally done more than I did while it was still comfortable to do so.


Please leave a reply

