Show and Tell: Fashion

May 31, 2009

Show and TellHey, look! A new Show and Tell logo!

Never did I imagine that when the time came to buy a maternity wardrobe, I would be inundated with so many “funny” options. I’m not the kind of person who wears t-shirts with funny sayings, so I’ve mostly ignored those in my shopping. But, some are hard to ignore.

First, there are those that I find totally offensive. I won’t dignify them with photos or links, but here are some of my “favorites.”

  • Next time I’m adopting.
  • Oops!
  • Oops we did it again!
  • Contraception malfunction.
  • Who’s your daddy?
  • He thinks he’s the father.
  • Real women have twins. (I don’t even know what to make of this, but it reminds me somehow of Julia Roberts on Oprah.)

There are also tees for Dad-to-be to wear alongside his pregnant wife.

  • Look what I did.
  • He shoots, he scores.
  • Sperm donor.
  • Yes, it’s mine.
  • My boys can swim.

I find these objectionable not only because they equate virility with fertility, but because they make inappropriate assumptions for many members of the ALI community. Here are a couple of variations on “My boys can swim” that I created for your viewing pleasure.

icsi

gift

Finally, I found a few shirts that are music to my infertile ears. What a refreshing change to see the experience of 15% of attempted child-bearers honored! I wouldn’t personally wear them because I am trying to avoid awkward conversations with strangers rather than start conversations, but if anyone else is interested, clicking on the photo/link will bring you to the relevant page.

Non-maternity shirts for those currently dealing with infertility:

  • Top five things you never say to a woman going through infertility…
  • Thanks for the assvice.
  • Infertility sucks.
  • “Just relax and it’ll happen?” Yeah. Thanks. Bye now.

FYI, that same store has adult- and child-sized shirts for adoptive families, including:

  • Adoption horror stories: I’ve met my quota of them, thanks.
  • Expecting a child from Vietnam (or China, or India, or Guatemala…)
  • My mom DOES have one of her own: ME!

Last, some maternity shirts for infertiles who have finally gotten pregnant:
finally

survived

science

Turns out that the huge amount of choice available on the internet isn’t all bad.

Go see what the rest of the class brought for Show and Tell.

25 Responses to “Show and Tell: Fashion”

  1. Murgdan Says:

    Now THATs my kind of shopping. LOL. 🙂

  2. MeAndBaby Says:

    Thanks for sharing! Those are great (the non-offensive ones of course).

  3. FET Accompli Says:

    Love those t-shirt variations – very tongue in cheek. Thanks for your comment on my blog 🙂 The twins will get to share both rainbows – praying of course that they continue to develop strong and healthy.

  4. Brenna Says:

    Wow, some of those are truly amazing! I think Love + Science = Baby is my favorite, only because it applies to my situation. If I were adopting, I can imagine enjoying several of the adoption versions (if I were one to wear slogan-festooned t-shirts, that is!).

  5. Delenn Says:

    Pretty cool! I love that last shirt! I did buy onesies for my little one that says “IVF Baby” and “My First Photo” (showing an embryo).

    Always good to get the word out!

  6. Carrie Says:

    I love it! 🙂 My favorite is the last one since EVERYONE and their mom asks me if I did IVF. That would take care of it!

    Hope you and babies are great!


  7. I’m not a huge fan of pregnancy/baby shirts, either. But some of those would be hard for me to resist. I love the last one. That one is really cute and tasteful.
    *HUGS*

  8. Kristin Says:

    I LOVE the Assvice t-shirt!

  9. Lavender Luz Says:

    Brilliant. My favorite is your first variation.

    So much cleverness here!

  10. becomingwhole Says:

    I am appalled by the first shirts you mentioned. Appalled.

    Along with most everyone else, however, I luv the last shirt, and am glad to know there are options for those who don’t fit into the “typical” mold for family building. Thanks for this post.

  11. Cat Says:

    Nice! I also like the Love+Science=Baby shirt as well as the one that just says Finally. That site also has some pretty funny maternity t-shirts.

  12. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Awesome!

    I am glad that I am spared these kind of T messages on display, by random people…the funny messages are somehow limited to – “Normal is Boring/You look like my next girlfriend”….Duh!

    Happy Shopping!

  13. Kami Says:

    Those are so cute!!! Hubby didn’t like it that I laughed at the very first shirt though! LOL

    Kami

  14. Emmy Says:

    Lots of good shirt choices! Did you get any?

  15. Nishkanu Says:

    Ha, the Mr. and I were just talking about those awful men’s shirts this morning and trying to make up slogans for our own (DE + ICSI makes for lots of opportunities to scare the bejeezus out of t-shirt readers).

  16. Jamie Says:

    I don’t know who produced the IF related t-shirts, but I wish I could find them and give them a hug.

    🙂

  17. Carrie Says:

    At least you were able to find something, vs the other slap in your face shirts.

  18. Eve Says:

    Hahaha…I found a lot of those ‘infertility’ shirts months ago when doing some kinda research for my blog. I think they’re funny, but can’t fathom wearing them either (and this is from a totally ‘out and proud IF’ girl! I was thinking maybe some of those shirts would equate better to greeting cards or something! You know, look at them and laugh, and then tuck them privately in a drawer somewhere.

  19. Martha Says:

    Great tshirts, I love the Science + Love one especially. Thank you for this great Show and Tell and also for your comment on my blog.

  20. Sunny Says:

    Oh I love these! I don’t usually wear shirts with sayings on them, but I might just make an exception if we ever do get knocked up again. 🙂

  21. S Says:

    my personal favorite – which I WILL be getting once I get there is a baby shirt thingy that says “worth every penny” =)

    another favorite is “ipood” but thats not really IF related….


  22. I would totally make an exception to my usual no-word T-shirt rule for the last one. So perfect, yet fashionable. If only I had known about it before the last dregs of my pregnancy. Will have to wait for IVF baby #2…

  23. shinejil Says:

    Finally! Indeed! I’d totally wear that one. 🙂

  24. strongblonde Says:

    i’ve also seen one that says “ICSI Baby” on it. 🙂 people wouldn’t have any idea unless they know a thing or two about IF.

    still holding up ok?

  25. Lauren Says:

    LOVE the shirts! If I had to hear “Just relax and it will happen” one more time I was going to go postal!! No in fact, relaxing was never going to cut it…IVF w/ ICSI however DID! I especially liked the love + science = baby. How true! My husband would laugh at the ‘My boys can’t swim. Thanks God for ICSI!” although I can’t imagine him actually wearing the shirt!Nice show and tell!


Please leave a reply

