Perfect Moment Monday: Day for Mothers

May 11, 2009

Vignettes of three mothers, in honor of Mothers’ Day.

DH’s Mother, last mentioned on this blog when I had a dream in which I called her a “fucking shrew whore”

I had another dream about DH’s mother last week.
She rudely asked me, “So when are you gonna finally have a baby?”
I replied, “November! Ha, in your face!”

Me, a mother by some reckonings but not by others

I received the following acknowledgments of Mothers’ Day this week:
OMG! You Rock Day gifts sent by Kym from I’m A Smart One, including tasty (but not too rich, due to my current food aversions — though I’m told he also makes all sorts of sexy sinful varieties) double chocolate chip cookies made by Frank, whose cookie business will launch soon; a superman/superwoman/superKym insignia; a pair of onesies that simultaneously joke about my blogging proclivities and indicate that I just might actually be someone’s mom soon (times 2). Note that both are blue, even though Kym is guessing boy-girl twins. Also note that Kym sent me many cookies, but they are so huge that I can only fit one on the plate.

OMG

A gorgeous laptop briefcase from DH, who previously has been known to ask why I need so many different work bags and briefcases. It arrived on my doorstep with a Happy Mothers’ Day note when he was out of town, and was a total surprise (frankly, I had the odds at 50/50 that he’d give me a card or gift).

Briefcase

My Mother, last mentioned on this blog for creatively naming the presidents

my mom: What is the name of your cat?
me: You don’t remember?
mom: No.
me: I’ve had the same cat for 8 years!
mom: I don’t have a good relationship with your cat.

Happy Mothers’ Day to all mothers and trying-to-become-mothers. If yours wasn’t happy, at least it’s over!


Perfect Moment
Lori from Weebles Wobblog is celebrating her 2nd blogoversary! And she’s one hell of a mother — trust me, I’ve seen her in action.

11 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Day for Mothers”

  1. Liv Says:

    You are most certainly welcome. Way to go Kym! Those t-shirts are PERFECT! You guys are so great!

  2. Kristin Says:

    Most excellent perfect moments! Happy Mother’s Day!


  3. I love Kym! Oh and Frank’s cookies! I’m so jealous! Your DH got you a very nice bag. I hope you enjoyed your day!

  4. Kymberli Says:

    LOVE the bag. I am in desperate need of a new one myself. Next to my parachute-sized granny panties, my big, blue PRENTICE HALL free teacher bag is the next unsexiest thing I own.

    I got two blue onesies because 1) I didn’t like the other two colors offered too much, and 2) I’ve always liked blue for girls, too. Besides – if you don’t land in the 50% girl/boy statistic, I’m feeling boy/boy vibes. πŸ™‚

  5. Carrie Says:

    Trust Kym with the sexes, been right with everything this way (very freaky).

    Since Frank made you those cookies, I even got to taste one, so thanks πŸ™‚

    The onesies are adorable!

  6. JJ Says:

    Oh goodness–I LOVE that shirt=)


  7. May I just say you made me feel so good? I must bookmark this post for, you know, THOSE times.

    Love those onesies, and I want that cookie.

  8. strongblonde Says:

    those gifts are fun πŸ™‚ i love the bag!! b asked if i wanted anything and i felt really, really weird about it. you know, everything about this pregnancy has seemed like i might jinx it somehow. i suppose it’s good that i’m still changing my socks and underwear πŸ™‚

  9. Fiona Says:

    I’m stopping in from Lori’s and glad I did you are quite a funny gal! That bag rocks!

  10. Cara Says:

    This is so funny!! I LOVE Your mom – and that conversation….still making me giggle.

    November..huh?

  11. Eve Says:

    What a great bounty of gifts!!! I’m so happy for you that this Mother’s Day was filled with hope in a way that maybe it hadn’t been before. The bag rocks, the onsies are PERFECT, but it’s the cookies that have me chomping at the bit!


Please leave a reply

