Show and Tell: Confluence

May 10, 2009

I’m going to pretend it isn’t Mothers’ Day right now and post as if it was merely early May and nothing else. I’ll talk about Mothers’ Day tomorrow.

Early May is a lovely time at my house, because the trees which were so bare all winter suddenly all sprout leaves. The bulbs (daffodils, tulips, hyacinth) bloom in April, but mostly it’s pretty desolate. May, however, becomes suddenly vibrant.

My house has about a dozen laurel bushes planted by the previous owners, vaguely around the same time I was born. Most of the year they are regular leafy green bushes, but for a few weeks at the very end of April and beginning of May, they bloom. Half of the bushes are pink and half purple, and the two colors bloom at different times. There is literally only a day or two when they overlap each year, so I always pay extra attention in early May to make sure I catch it.

Strangely, some of the bushes are on different schedules as others of their same type. One pink bush might be starting to bud just as another pink bush is wilting. This means that for some pairs of bushes the overlap gets extended, and for other pairs the overlap gets missed entirely.

Since I was out of town earlier this week when some of the pairs were overlapping, this is the only overlap I managed to capture this year.

You can draw a parallel to fertility if you like, about getting everything exactly lined up at the same time, being disappointed when you miss the tiny window, being thrilled when the confluence works. Or, you can just look at the photo.

Laurel

Go join the rest of Show and Tell.

10 Responses to “Show and Tell: Confluence”

  1. Kristin Says:

    How beautiful and I love the analogy!


  2. Beautiful blooms! I love the colors.

  3. Wishing4One Says:

    Perfect analogy and I do love the photo!


  4. those must be some pretty young bushes.

  5. Liv Says:

    love Erica’s comment btw…

    Those are lovely to have on your property. They remind me of the way the azaleas bloom here.

  6. CJ Says:

    Gorgeous blooms! I wish I didn’t (accidentally) kill all of the flowers and bushes in our landscaping. Although it can be a painful reminder of infertility, there is also hope in the blooms.


  7. They are stunningly beautiful (my favorite colors!) AND I love the symbolism.

    Glad you got to the window in time.

  8. Ali Says:

    Good analogy ..and very pretty picture!

  9. lynn Says:

    bea-u-tee-full!!

  10. Eve Says:

    Yes, I think that is a great analogy! Very beautiful!!!!


Please leave a reply

