Small World

May 9, 2009

I’ve been watching a lot of Discovery channel birth shows lately. I pick and choose, scanning the descriptions for people who don’t appear to be oblivious fertiles. I also prefer the medically oriented shows over the sappy Baby Story stuff. When my husband is around he asks me to change the channel because he finds it distressing, but I can handle watching any amount of high risk and heartbreak. Everything except the special on Vanishing Twins — I stay far away from that one.

I just watched an episode of a show that follows one OB practice through different patients. Imagine my surprise when one of the OBs explains how she’s in the middle of an IVF cycle, then does a sub-Q injection for the camera. Cool, great.

Then the OB shows up to the clinic and the narrator, one of the other OBs in the practice, identifies the RE as “my ex-husband.” Your own ex-husband being your RE would obviously be weirder, but your colleague’s ex-husband is also pretty weird.

Then the narrator says the RE’s name, and I say, “Hey!” I look up from the laptop and look at the TV, and say, “Hey!” That is one of my former REs! He was a junior partner in Dr. Fancy Pants’ practice (Dr. Fancy Britches? Dr. Fancy Culottes?), and frankly, of the three REs, the one whose bedside manner I liked best. He left Dr. Fancy Pants pretty recently to go out on his own, and apparently since I saw him five years ago he divorced the wife I’d seen in the photo on his desk. From the 30 seconds he was on screen, his bedside manner appears to have remained excellent.

You may or may not be surprised to learn that it’s not the first time that I’ve been watching TV and realized, “Hey, that guy has seen my hoo-hah!”

13 Responses to “Small World”


  1. LOL @ “Hey, that guy has seen my hoo-hah!” So you’re famous by proxy, right? Can I have your autograph? ;o)

  2. Nina Says:

    Oh, how funny! I’m not sure how I’d feel about someone on tv having seen my tootie. But I’d definitely give autographs, if it’d happened to me.

  3. Mel Says:

    That is intriguing–the numerous people who have seen your hoo-hah on television…

  4. Dora Says:

    That’s hilarious! We do become so blasé about who sees it. “Hey, you’ve got MD after your name? You can visit my vagina.”

  5. Kymberli Says:

    I saw that same episode, and now I’ll be glued to that TV show.

    And umm…who *else* on TV has seen the great down below? Do tell. 🙂

  6. Heather R. Says:

    I love Deliver Me. That one of the Docs let us follow her through her IVF was pretty special.

    Your vahjayjay was famous even before your doc showed on tv!


  7. See!? Synchronicity!

    Only you. Or, only you and Lolli.

  8. Amy Says:

    How do you bring up that little gem at cocktail parties I wonder?

  9. JuliaS Says:

    Can’t say that I have had that experience. Though, we moved right after my first baby was born and I had to find a new doctor for my 6 week check up. Found one, saw him and imagine my eternal mortification to show up at church on Sunday morning and run into the very same . . ..

    I received the little bowl/pot in the mail the other day – thank you! You chose well, so pretty! My dd is lusting after it – I told her it was mine. :0)

    Thanks again and many good wishes!

  10. Carrie Says:

    I know what show you are talking about, and I really like that one, too. I think it would be awesome to be going to an office with three female doctors, especially when they have been through many of the same IF problems.

  11. Kristin Says:

    “it’s not the first time that I’ve been watching TV and realized, “Hey, that guy has seen my hoo-hah!”

    I don’t know why that struck me as hysterical but it did.

  12. Wishing4One Says:

    For some reason it was not weird to read that from you. Good to read all is well, I’ve missed you. xoxoxox

  13. strongblonde Says:

    ha ha. that’s funny. 😉


Please leave a reply

