Show and Tell: Impossible

April 26, 2009

Ever since I took up pottery, I’ve had a rule that I’m no longer allowed to make pottery purchases. I still browse in stores and arts festivals, to appreciate others’ work and to give myself ideas, but anything that I’m able (or potentially able) to create is off limits — if I want it, I have to try to make it myself.

That rule did not apply when I went to a shop in Madrid run by a pottery cooperative. I actually went just to look, and I saw lots of cool stuff, but I could not resist one item that I found. Technically it is a ceramic sculpture instead of functional pottery like I usually make, so it doesn’t violate my No Purchase rule. As decent as my pottery skills are in certain ways, it would truly be impossible for me to make one of these.

Remember how I was drawn to Don Quixote, both because of the then-upcoming trip to Spain and because of the quixotic, impossible dream of IUI #7 (the one that worked)?

I just couldn’t say no when I saw this. Yes, it cost a lot of money. Yes, it was extremely inconvenient to transport across the ocean (height = 14 inches tall, but happily it’s not as heavy as you might imagine). Despite the downsides, there was no way I could go home without it — especially since at the time I knew I was pregnant, and that the character of Don Quixote had already taken on additional meaning for me.

Don Quixote

This handsome fellow now sits next to Don Quixote and Rocinante in pen and ink, creating a little Impossible Dream corner of the room. I’ll show you what they look like together soon, but first I have to show you a couple more installments of Infertility Art — or perhaps a more apt name would be Fertility Art?

Join the Show and Tell circle.

11 Responses to “Show and Tell: Impossible”


  1. It’s gorgeous! I can see why you brought it home with you.

    I love the idea of your Impossible Dream corner.


  2. That is a very interestingly beautiful piece. It’s so unique. I can’t stop looking at it!

  3. Carrie Says:

    Okay, that definitely should be excluded from your rule: you cannot eat out of it, right? I love it, and kudos for bringing it safely home!

    Have a great Monday!
    Carrie

  4. WiseGuy Says:

    Totally eye-catching!!

    Sometimes objects take on meanings that only we understand and appreciate…

    It is fantastic! Congrats on the great purchase!!! And it having survived the transportation and landed safely into your house!

  5. Kristin Says:

    Love the piece and I love the idea of an Impossible Dream artwork corner.

  6. VA Blondie Says:

    He is fantastic! What a great piece! No wonder you could not resist him.

  7. Mel Says:

    So…you know the play they made out of the book? I always get chills when she sings: “oh does he know? He’ll be laughed at wherever he goes? And why am I not laughing myself? I don’t know.” Here’s to all those who don’t give a shit if people laugh and charge on. A beautiful physical reminder of an important philosophy 🙂

  8. Dora Says:

    It’s stunning! Of course you had to have it!

    Funny, even though I haven’t done any ceramics in many years, I never had any rule like that. I so enjoy work that is different from mine, that if I can afford it, I buy it.

    I just purchased a terrific piece. Mine was a bargain. I think it could easily be worth several times what I paid! (LOVE ebay!) I was going to post about it for Show and Tell, but didn’t get to it. Maybe next week. It is also appropriate for my pregnancy.

  9. chelle Says:

    oooh. I like that piece.

    So, I was reading a couple of posts back about the weight gain.. wow. I am not a vegitarian so I’m having no trouble getting protein, but I see how hard that is for you! How are you doing this week?

  10. Carrie Says:

    That is pretty neat looking!

  11. mekate Says:

    LOVE IT. Love it love it love it.
    I kept all my vial tops and will be making what I call A.R.T art. I am just waiting for an afternoon with a canvas and some glue.


Please leave a reply

