Desperate Measures

March 25, 2009

I was so sidetracked by yesterday’s ultrasound that I didn’t get a chance to talk about Monday night’s episode of 24.

For those who watch it on delayed TiVo like I do, don’t worry, there are no spoilers about the plot. The only spoiler is about a particular stand-alone scene.

DH rightly points out that one expects to see the occasional mention of infertility on shows like ER that have a medical focus or are “for chicks” (or both, as he would argue for ER). One does not expect infertility to come up on a thriller show like 24.

We were both taken aback during this week’s episode — much pausing and rewinding ensued. A very minor character was first depicted on the phone with his very pregnant wife, who is carrying twin girls. Later, that characters ends up explaining to Jack Bauer that he agreed to be in cahoots with bad guys because he and his wife had been trying to conceive for three years, and that the treatments had been so expensive and “not one penny” had been covered by health insurance.

Infertile victory! A little political message sneaks in for the masses.

It’s probably not ideal that the guy was depicted doing shady stuff, but it also conveys the desperation of infertility. C’mon, I know that plenty of you have thought of doing something desperate to pay for IF treatments. Anyone want to fess up?

6 Responses to “Desperate Measures”

  1. strongblonde Says:

    i’m excited! that’s definitely a big step.

    btw: i’m so excited that the US showed good results!!! i didn’t get to comment yesterday 🙂

    xoxo

  2. Kristin Says:

    I saw that too. Thought it was fricking awesome especially with the comment of how insurance didn’t pay for anything! Like you said, maybe not ideal but still a victory.

  3. WiseGuy Says:

    I don’t watch 24.

    Wow, now atleast infertiles will be heard.

    Insurance Companies, you shall not avoid us or ignore us or snub us or cut our claims down. Amen!

  4. Heather Says:

    I’ve been lucky that my insurance did cover IF treatments. It was actually cheaper to do IF than to adopt. But thanks for reminding me. I’ve been wanting to take my unused leftover meds to the REs office to help someone else out that is not so lucky.


  5. I have seen IF and adoption creeping into mainstream TV. Sometimes its not all good. Brothers and Sisters is the best show with a story line about TTC and adoption. I found out that the director or producer is an adoptive mom so she is making sure the story line is authentic- hooray. Someone on our side.
    ICLW

  6. Leslie Laine Says:

    I saw this scene as well and was so emotionally moved by it that I had to leave the room because I was so afraid that guy was going to be killed. My husband told me later that “Jackie B” (as we affectionately refer to him in our house) saved his life. I was relieved.


Please leave a reply

