6w0d/28dpo: Roll Call Ultrasound

March 24, 2009

Turns out I’m not “eating for 12” after all.

Just 3.
6w0d-a
6w0d-b

Two teensy heartbeats, 129 and 125. Everything where it’s supposed to be (fetal pole, sac) and measuring at the right size.

DH remains highly cautious, but “supportive at appropriate times” as he put it. He did get a little excited at the prospect of being done with treatments forever. I am cautious but also on the brink of happy. Much less scared than when I thought there might be lots and lots of babies in there.

Sooooo relieved that our discussion of selective reduction will not be an issue for me — but glad that we talked about it, because it will be an issue for others now and in the future and it’s something that will be raised, at least in theory, for many infertiles. The usually matter-of-fact Dr. Full Steam Ahead also seemed relieved that he wouldn’t be making the news with the first undecaplets in history.

Thanks for all of your well wishes, throughout this process.

We won’t be telling anyone IRL at all for a while, except for health care providers of course. I know that the internets will keep my secret safe.

62 Responses to “6w0d/28dpo: Roll Call Ultrasound”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Twins…that’s fantastic. I’m sure you’re relieved to put the selective reduction issue away. CONGRATS on the great news!

  2. Shelli Says:

    Great news!

  3. oorja Says:

    Hi,

    i came across your blog some time ago and have been regular since, but never commented.waited till you confirmed everything.

    i was actually very haapy to read that you were expecting, then i read the selective reduction post and wished you didn’t have to go through that.

    i am feeling very happy for you.

    congratulations.

  4. loribeth Says:

    Congratulations! : )

  5. Silya Says:

    Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you (and also relieved that selective reduction won’t be an issue). Thank you for having the discussion, though.

  6. Callie Says:

    That’s so exciting! I’ve been waiting with bated breath to hear how your ultrasound went, and really happy to hear that you’re not facing the selective reduction decision.

    I honestly don’t know what I’d do if faced with making that call, although I’ve been giving it more thought as of late. Reason being – for our upcoming cycle in June, we’ve made the decision with our doctor to go to 5 day regardless and transfer 3 embryos should we should be so lucky. Of course, that might be “borrowing worries” (as my mother would say) unnecessarily seeing that we’ve never gotten beyond a 3 day transfer and after 2 cycles, 40 eggs, and 7 embryos, we have exactly 0 babies and only 1 little guy on ice…but a girl can dream – and worry.

    Anyway, wanted to offer a huge congrats on 2 beautiful ultrasounds, and I’m keeping you in my thoughts as you start this new phase of the journey.

  7. fattykins Says:

    Wow, what great news! I’m so glad you don’t have to worry about SR. Congrats on a good u/s!

  8. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Twins! What a wonderful news and what a relief!

    Congratulations! I am so happy for you…I wish I could send a photo of me right with – this wide grin!

    Woohoo!

  9. Kristin Says:

    Oh wow…I am so, so happy to see and hear this news. Woohoooo!

  10. Nina Says:

    Congrats! How exciting for you. Good luck!

  11. Laura Says:

    omfg! so happy for yoU! thats way amazing!!! Twins!?! Hooray!

  12. Mel Says:

    This is the part where I run around the living room like a chicken with her head cut off and scream “yay!” for you guys for the next 10 minutes. What happy news!

  13. t Says:

    congratulations! i’m so happy for you that you don’t have to make any hard decisions on this one. Yay for two little heartbeats!

  14. Kami Says:

    Thank the Lord!!!! I am so happy for you. What a blessing to have two in there! Enjoy mommy!!

    Kami

  15. Photogrl Says:

    What beautiful pictures!

    Congratulations on the twins!

  16. Brenna Says:

    Whew!!! I’m so glad you didn’t have to make any tough decisions. Twins — not without risks, but definitely doable. 🙂 Wishing you all the best~

  17. K Says:

    Amazing!!!!!

  18. Dreaming Soul Says:

    OMG! OMG! OMG! OMG!OMG!OMG!OMG!OMG!OMG!
    I am BEYOND thrilled for you!! BEYOND!!!!!! I’m so happy that we can now share this journey!!!! TWINS!!!! Okay, I’ve totally misused my exclamation mark quota for the day. (!!!)

  19. sara Says:

    Such great news! A big ole congrats!

  20. S. Says:

    what a beautiful picture! congratulations!!!! 😀


  21. Congratulations! What a beautiful sight that is!

  22. Dora Says:

    WONDERFUL!!!! I’m so relieved and excited for you! Woohooo!

    Chocolate date to celebrate next month! xoxo x 3!

  23. Betsy Says:

    Here from L&F, congratulations!!


  24. TWINS!!!! How exciting! I’m so happy for you and DH and very relieved you’re not eating for 12.
    Congratulations!
    *HUGS*


  25. Let the good news keep on coming, Girlfriend!

  26. nishkanu Says:

    That is GREAT! Here’s hoping all stays as lovelily well with them.

  27. Nity Says:

    Sweet news hot mama!!

    When I first saw the “eating for 3” I thought triplets, but then I was confused with the 2 heartbeats. Then I was like – duh, include the hot mama and there you have twins and a mama = 3. :o)

  28. Nix Says:

    Congratulations, I wish you a long and quiet pregnancy with two beautiful little babies at the end.

  29. Cara Says:

    OH…MY…FREAKING – WOW – WOWZERS..DAMN. – THIS IS JUST THE BEST AND MOST AMAZING NEWS!!!

  30. Cara Says:

    Oh, and just in case no-one has said this yet (yes..an admission I didn’t read all the comments – shame on me) You might have TWO babies smiling at you from the backseat!!!!

    xoxo

  31. shinejil Says:

    Congrats! I hope they continue to thrive and that you can indeed throw in the treatment towel forever.

  32. Kimbosue Says:

    Congrats! Twins – that is amazing!
    ICLW

  33. Annie Says:

    Oh congratulations! What excellent news, so happy for you guys, yay!

  34. kaaron Says:

    Congrats to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  35. MrsJoyner Says:

    Felicidades!!!! I am so, SO excited for you and even more excited that you aren’t auditioning to be the next Jon & Kate + 8!! Twins!! How outstanding!!

  36. Heather Says:

    Congratulations! If you need to ask any advice on expecting twins, I’m here for you. Take care of yourself.

  37. Katie Says:

    YAY! Congrats on the twins!

  38. Wishing4One Says:

    YEAHHHHHHHHH! Very VERY cool! This is awesome news and am so excited for you! Wow, just amazing, really really amazing! Congratulations!

  39. Rebecca Says:

    Yay yay yay yay yay!

  40. Barefoot Says:

    Congratulations!! So excited to see your news.

  41. rosesdaughter Says:

    COngrats!!!! Wow!!!

    ICLW

  42. Sue Says:

    Congratulations!!!!
    Here’s to a healthy and happy next 8 months!!!
    S X

  43. Ana Says:

    Congratulations. That is fantastic news. Enjoy 🙂

  44. 'Murgdan' Says:

    OH, I just screamed out, “OH WOW!”…it just came out. I’m glad good things happen sometimes. 🙂

  45. staciet Says:

    Wow! Great news! Wishing you a happy and healthy 8 more months!


  46. wonderful news!! truly amazing to see your little ones on u/s so early! and truly glad you didn’t have more than 2.

    awesome!

  47. mrslala Says:

    Congratulations!! If you ever want to talk “twins” feel free to stop by! =)

  48. luna Says:

    holy crap, wow! double stuff. great news!

  49. samcy Says:

    Oh my! What a wonderful blessing from a perfunctory IUI # 7 😉

    Wonderful news!

    xxx

  50. Carrie Says:

    Congrats! I have a set of 6 month old twins. Here’s to hoping you have a smooth pregnancy.

    ICLW.

  51. Melissa Says:

    That is absolutely fantastic!!!! Congrats!!! I am so happy for you that you didn’t have to further discuss SR. Best of luck to you and the little ones!

    ~ICLW

  52. Cat Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! I wish you a happy and healthy nine months! Well, actually only about 7.5 months more. 🙂 That’s such great news! As my DH would say, you’re having doublets! (It’s what he calls twins. I don’t know why.)


  53. Your very own wombmates. Congratulations.

    -ICLW


  54. OMG! Twins! Congrats darlin’! That’s so exciting, but a little scary, no? I’m equally glad you’re not eating for 12! Slow and steady wins the race. Take things as they come. Biggest HUGS!!!


  55. Oh yea! Super congrats. How very, very excellent. I keeping my fingers super duper crossed for a great pregnancy. So exciting! And I’m so happy for you.

  56. Villagepig Says:

    Allow me to extend and early and tentaive (but heartfelt) welcome to the twin club!

    For the record, twin-shock sets in at around 2 weeks after you find out which is when you sort of freak out when you look at all the singles and wonder how on earth you’ll get it right.

    Happy to hear all is still on track!

    VP (mother to twins)

  57. Sugar & Ice Says:

    As a mother to 6 month old twins (and a 3 year old), I am here to give you a big congratulations! Twins are a true blessing and a huge amount of fun! Good luck with this pregnancy; it will likely be a little harder than it would have been with one…but the benefits afterward are well worth it!!

  58. mekate Says:

    YAY 2!!!! That is a fine fine fine number. Good for all of you, great news, and congratulations!

  59. yael Says:

    wow that’s fantastic!!! congratulations!

  60. Amanda Says:

    It’s the middle of the night, I’m in my 2ww, trying to Aphrodite some mild anxiety by reading, and i found your post. Thank you do very, very much for sharing. I’m tearing up at your good news. I needed to read something positive, no pun intended!


Please leave a reply

