21DPO: When It Rains, It Pours

March 17, 2009

I had my 21DPO beta today. The good news is that I’m still pregnant. The I’m-not-sure-if-it’s-good news is that I’m really really pregnant.

As for the winner of the Beta #2 contest… you know how Fattykins guessed the first beta exactly right?

This wasn’t like that.

This was more like my contest in September to guess the size of the vase that Lori won in the bridge contest in August. The height of the vase in question was 3.25 inches; the guesses ranged from 8 to 12 inches. Wishing4One triumphed by being the least wrong.

In this case, the winner was the person who was the least wrong: Julia from Life After Infertility and Loss.

Guesses ranged from 287 to 3950, with a median of 2418. The Betabase median at 21DPO for singletons is 1221, so the guesses were on the high side but reasonable given that my 12DPO beta was also on the high side.

The Betabase median for twins is 2514, and for higher order multiples is 3504.

I have blown all of those out of the water.

6558

Wait, what?

Yes, you read that correctly. That is not a typo. My beta is almost a week ahead of the median for singleton pregnancies, and almost double the median for 21DPO triplets or more.

When it rains, it pours. Feast or famine.

Ultrasound a week from today. Before, I would have been afraid that I would see zero heartbeats. Now, I am afraid that we will see a great many heartbeats.

When I was still hungry after dinner tonight, DH joked that I am “eating for twelve.”

Have I mentioned that when it rains it pours?

Maybe the beta is just high. Maybe I’m defying the odds once again by having a high singleton beta, just as I defied the odds by not getting/staying pregnant for 7 years, or as I defied the odds by going through 10 treatment cycles including 2 IVFs without success, or as I defied the odds by getting pregnant from a perfunctory IUI that had no chance of working.

Or maybe I’m about to defy a different set of odds.

I’ll show you Julia’s prize soon. I need to pick myself up off the floor first.

29 Responses to “21DPO: When It Rains, It Pours”

  1. Heather R. Says:

    Holy Beta, Batman!

  2. dreamingsoul Says:

    Oh my…

  3. Kymberli Says:

    BlrugharoghhwhaWHAT???? Wow. Maybe BABIES smiling in the backseat? Wow. Your ultrasound cannot come soon enough.

  4. Kristin Says:

    Joining Heather…Holy High As Hell Betas, Batman! Wow, wow, wow.

  5. baby prams Says:

    I’m amazed, wow, Please keep us posted!

  6. WiseGuy Says:

    A Jaw Dropper!

    Wow….Congratulations and all the very best! Phew! 🙂


  7. Whoa! That’s amazing (if jaw dropping) news. Are you planning on doing a heartbeats contest? Because if so, I would like to put in a vote for 3. I am on the edge of my seat about this ultrasound…

  8. Photogrl Says:

    Well, okay, now that I’ve picked my jaw up off the floor…

    You are definitely pregnant! Can’t wait to hear about you ultrasound next week.

    Over 6000!?! Wow.

  9. Callie Says:

    Holy Cow!!! That is some number, sister!

    I can’t wait to hear about the ultrasound!


  10. that’s amazing news. maybe i should go try a lowly iui again!
    Thanks for the congrats.

  11. Kami Says:

    Ummmmmm, I am lost for words but extremely excited for you at the same time!!!! HOLY CRAP!!!! I can’t wait to find out! Good luck!

    Kami

  12. loribeth Says:

    Holy cr@p indeed!!!

  13. Jennifer Says:

    HOLY MOLY!!! Are you thinking what I’m thinking…multiple little babies? CONGRATS on the great #.

  14. Sarah Says:

    Zowie! I think Jen at “maybe if you just relax” had really high betas, but only had one. So maybe you just have one really strong one in there!

  15. Nity Says:

    Holy crap! Wowzers. Keeping fingers crossed for the u/s…
    ~~HUGS~~

  16. Laura Says:

    holy cow. Praying that whatever is happening is whatever is SUPPOSED to be happening—and so glad your numbers didn’t DROP!

  17. Anna Says:

    I hope Jen at “Maybe If You Just Relax” don’t mind me reposting her info here.
    Her 1st beta was: 964
    2nd @ 22dp3dt was: 27,820

    Yes, you read that correctly! And she was pregnant with a singleton.
    Just to say, try not to read too much into the numbers.

    Wishing you all the best for a happy and healthy pregnancy.

    Anna

  18. shinejil Says:

    Wow! Well, you jumped that hurdle with flying colors. Hang in there until the ultrasound; it’s really hard to predict anything precisely about the number of embryos from betas.

    But if you keep eating like it’s going out of style and start sleeping 12 hours a day… that’s a different story. 🙂

  19. Phoebe Says:

    I know nothing about the predictability of betas and how that relates to the number of embryos, but I am sure it is highly variable. I hope that it’s all good news for you. I guess saying “try not to worry” right now is like saying “try to relax” when TTC?

  20. Sue Says:

    Oh. My. God.

    We’re totally going to see you on Discovery Health Channel with your 6 babies like Jon and Kate!!!!

    WHOOT!
    Sx

  21. strongblonde Says:

    hmmm….i’m pensive. i’m anxious to hear how the us goes and am thinking about you. 😉 xoxo

  22. coffeegrljp Says:

    Yay! What good news! I can’t wait to hear more….and more and more!

  23. mekate Says:

    Holy shit- well, here’s to bucking the odds, wishing all the best for you– and thank you- you’ve given me such hope by having a successful IUI-

  24. onepinkline Says:

    Holy Crap! And Yay! And, well…hoooly crap. When’s the ultrasound?


  25. Wow! What a BETA!! That’s insane and wonderful!!! Need a hand up off that floor yet??

    Can’t wait to hear how many beans you’ve got hanging out in there. 🙂

  26. Wishing4One Says:

    O.M.G. I just checked in now and holy sh$t, how cool is this? This is awesome news! I am so excited and can’t wait to hear what happens next. So your plan worked, ok differently than you planned, thank God. Isn’t it just amazing how things fall into place. So So so so excited for you Cassandra! xoxox


  27. I didn’t think my eyes could possibly get as big as they just did reading that! WOW! I can’t wait for your ultrasound!
    Deep breaths!

    Congrats Julia!

  28. nancy Says:

    WOWee!!!

    I’m ~so~ excited for you!!!

  29. rosesdaughter Says:

    WOW. I gasped outloud when I saw you Beta. There are at least two………


Please leave a reply

