Show and Tell: Splitting the Difference

March 14, 2009

This week for Show and Tell I am revealing the winner and prize for my Guess The Beta Contest.

The beta at 12DPO was (drumroll) 79.

This means that Fattykins from I Can’t Wash My Jeans, My Fat Is In The Way is our winner, with a right-on guess of 79.

(Honorable mention to S from Misconceptions About Conception who guessed an ever-so-close 78.)

I gave Fattykins prize options of some pottery that I had made or a gift of her choice from Spain. She decided to split the difference with some pottery from Spain.

Here it is, from an incredible shop in Madrid that sells all sorts of functional and artistic porcelain items made by a pottery collective. Note the deceptive-as-usual photo tricks distorting the scale — this vase is less than three inches tall. Sorry, I didn’t bring my old pal Wonder Woman pez to Spain.

Vase for Fattykins

I actually bought myself a gift at that same shop too (despite my rule that I’m not allowed to buy pottery, which this doesn’t technically violate since it’s a sculpture) but for that you’ll need to wait for a future Show and Tell.

Congrats, Fattykins! I hope that you can locate some tiny flowers to fit the vase. I will mail it once I return to the U.S., which is only a couple of days away. Sad news for continued enjoyment of this fine country, but happy news for the ability to do a repeat beta.

Which leads us to… another contest! Guess my second beta, which will occur at 21DPO. It could have doubled many times over from 79 at 12DPO, or it may have declined. No hint of becoming un-pregnant so far, but if I’ve learned anything from this BFP, it’s that anything is possible. Hell, it might be quadrupling because I’m carrying quads. Anything is possible.

Ojo los otros de Show y Tell.

23 Responses to “Show and Tell: Splitting the Difference”

  1. Photogrl Says:

    Awesome number for 12DPO!

    The vase is cute..enjoy your last few days in Spain.

    As for your next draw, anything is possible, how about 287?

  2. Mel Says:

    That is a great number for 12DPO. I’m going with 2528 for the next beta. Nice healthy singleton number πŸ™‚


  3. Gulp. Quads?

    Estas embarazada y estoy muy muy muy feliz por tu.

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Nice beta πŸ™‚ And great prize for Fattykins.

  5. Liv Says:

    Woohoo!!! Great beta and love the little vase. Way to go Fattykins.


  6. Lovely beta and vase!

    I’m guessing 2418 for your next beta! Nice and strong…

    Enjoy the rest of your trip!!


  7. Congrats,Fattykins! That vase is lovely. Enjoy the rest of your vacation. I’m guess 900 for your next beta.

  8. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Fattykins has a great prize! Love it!

    I did not enter the previouc contest. I don’t have any answer for this one as well.

    I have no beta experience. 😦

    Enjoy yourself in Spain!

  9. Kristin Says:

    I’m going to guess about 1850 because doubling time slows significantly once you have passed 1000.


  10. Good beta for 12dpo! πŸ™‚

    wowee, if you have quads, I’m so calling you “quadrumom”

    hahaha don’t hit me πŸ™‚

  11. Jennifer Says:

    Wow…you’ve got a great 12dpo beta…couple it be twins?

    My guess for 21dpo is…

    2732

  12. Eve Says:

    Can’t wait to see how many buns you have cooking in there!

    I’ll guess 2317…that number has absolutely no scientific basis, btw. It’s just the last four digits of my sitter’s phone, lol!

  13. JuliaS Says:

    I’m going with 3950 on 21dpo!

    Enjoy the remaining moments of your trip!

  14. Ana Says:

    Congrats. V happy for you! I’ll guess 2676. random.

  15. Cara Says:

    Hey Girl! I’ve really missed reading all your posts…I’ve got to catch up!

    But I’m just so excited for you…SO – SO – SO- freakin excited!

    I don’t know much about numbers – but I’m going with…..1799, cause that’s how much I spent yesterday on 10 gifts that retailed for 70.00!!!

  16. Brenna Says:

    Lovely vase AND lovely beta!!! I’m so very happy for you. Hmm, I’ll go with 3091. Best wishes~

  17. fattykins Says:

    Wow, I’m very excited! Thanks! Thanks also to everyone for the congrats, I guessed 79 because it was my first beta result…and I thought I might be having twins but nope, singleton! In fairness, I’m not going to guess again – give someone else a chance to win something πŸ˜‰

  18. mrsseed Says:

    Nice beta! And what a cool prize! Congrats to you and fattykins.


  19. That’s a GREAT beta number. So excited. Let’s see. For the next guess I’m going to go with 2292. I hope that’s a good number. I honestly don’t remember my 21dpo…

  20. Ali Says:

    Cute vase ..I have no beta expirence but I hope you had a great time in spian !

    AlixX

  21. peanuttam Says:

    Congrats on your pregnancy!

    I too am hoping that your next beta is nice and strong!!

  22. Imogen Says:

    That BETA is awesome for 12DPO! WOOT WOOT! So happy for you xo


Please leave a reply

