Omega Woman (or, I Am Legend)

March 3, 2009

I did not encounter a single person today. I emailed and blogged and talked on the phone, but I did not come within 50 feet of another human being, nor talk to anyone face to face. I did make physical contact with my cat and talk to her, but I don’t think that counts.

There have been a few days in my life where I didn’t make any contact because DH was away and I didn’t leave the house, but this is the first time I can ever remember that I left the house for several hours yet did not bump into another human being.

DH out of town + snowstorm causing snow day for literally millions of people = the last woman on earth.

Don’t worry, I wasn’t lonely. Mostly, I missed DH’s snow shoveling abilities, and perhaps some of his interpersonal charms — but mostly the shoveling. Everyone else I could take or leave.

After spending an hour shoveling myself out of the driveway, I finally made it to Old Job, where I discovered that I was the only person who had come in. As of noon when I arrived, mine were the first footprints in the snow approaching any of the building’s entrances. You know, I never actually got an email saying that everything was closed — I am pretty sure an email should go out in situations like this. Apparently everyone else used common sense.

10 Responses to “Omega Woman (or, I Am Legend)”

  1. dreamingsoul Says:

    “Everyone else I could take or leave.” This is me…every day. Yes an email should have gone out. It sucks that you made the effort to get there when no one else did.

  2. samcy Says:

    That must have been pretty weird to feel like the only person on the earth… Freaky! (did you keep expecting infected zombies to jump out at ya? huh? did ya?)

    xxx

  3. Jo Says:

    There are days I wish I didn’t have to encounter anyone else. . .hope you enjoyed your little break!


  4. I hope DH gets home safe and soon. That must have been a strange feeling, not have encountered another human being all day long. Please don’t send the snow west, we’ve had enough. Thanks!


  5. That’s funny. My elementary school once didn’t send out a message that it was canceled and at the age of 9 and 8, my sister and I walked through a blizzard to get there, only to find out it was closed. I had completely forgotten about that story. But reading your post totally made me remember. At least my school had the excuse of being pre-Internet. Can’t believe that your office didn’t at least send you an email!


  6. I actually really dig the sense of solitude I got from reading your post. The last woman on earth footprints scenario. After the panic, its actually a pretty peaceful thing to imagine.

    Sucks about going into work though. Common sense. Phooey.

    P.S. You probably know, the Matheson novel was more about vampirism than standardised ‘zombies’ per se. Just sayin’. Just like Doom the game was more about demons from hell than infected zombies. =)

  7. Cara Says:

    Hmmmm…that almost sounds nice – serene – you know? No expectations.

    Sorry – very la-de-da-de-de right now.

  8. Eve Says:

    I agree, emails are necessary for things like that! I would have been ticked that I made such an effort for naught!!!

    BTW, I think I would miss my dh’s shoveling skills more than his compant (at least in a snowstorm) too! But don’t tell him I said that, lol!

    Eve (infertility rocks)

  9. Bunny Says:

    Sorry you made the trip in for naught. And yes, shoveling is really much better as a two person job. I did 45 minutes by my lonesome on Monday afternoon and it was tough! Hurry up spring!

  10. Kate Says:

    Popping in to thank you for cheering me on during my FET 2ww. Still no news. I’m sorry you got a BFN in Jan. Days w/ no human contact–I’ve said it a million times: thank goodness for the internet… and pets (fish included).


Please leave a reply

