Show and Tell: Original Thought

February 28, 2009

In the film world, award season runs from December through the Oscars. In the blogosphere, apparently Award Season has been the past couple of weeks.

I have received awards from several people lately. Thanks, ladies!

Shalini from By the Pricking of My Thumbs, Bunny from Bugaboo Envy, Laura from Mommy In Waiting, and WiseGuy from Woman, Anyone? gave me the Honest Scrap award.

Heather from Joys In My Life and Eve from Infertility Rocks gave me the Sisterhood Award.

Although I appreciate the recognition, I’m not a fan of the chain-letter nature of these awards. Just as I’m not a fan of the emails I receive from my aunt that tell me to honor womanhood or support America or praise Jesus by forwarding the email to a dozen people. She sends me about 100 forwarded emails per year, and maybe 5 that she’s written herself. I vastly prefer original thought.

Thus, I’m going to ignore the awards’ instructions to nominate other bloggers. Instead, I will create my own award and meme.

Let’s call it the Original Thought Award and the Me-Me-Me-Meme, since most of the questions are about receiving things. If you answer the questions, you can have the bling, if you want it. That’s all you need to do — just answer the questions and stop there. There is no mandate to pass it along.

But, if inspiration strikes you, feel free to honor another blogger for showing original thought. If you pass the award along on your own blog, in the spirit of original thought I recommend that you make up an additional question for the recipient to answer along with the ones below.

If you answer the questions on your own blog or pass the award along, please leave me a comment so that I can read the answers!

Original Thought Award
1. What was the last compliment you received?
2. What was the last word someone used to describe you?
3. What was the last gift you received?
4. What was the last favor someone did for you?
5. When was the last time you made up your own mind, instead of doing what everyone else would do?

Here are my answers.
1. Today I had a facial after a hiatus of several months. During the extractions my esthetician said, “I’ve missed you! Most people can’t handle very many extractions. You’re my brave little soldier — you barely even flinch! Your pain tolerance is amazing.” I didn’t bother to tell her that extractions are nothing compared to giving yourself intramuscular injections in your own ass.
2. Cerebral
3. Depends whether you consider a prize to be a gift… The last real gift was a FedEx package with chocolates from my dad on Valentine’s Day. More recently, I won the Name the Car contest that Kristen and her friend Rys held, and received this pillow. Thanks, ladies! Now I just need to get a little bug of my own to love — the baby kind, not the Volkswagen. I’m pretty fed up with my own VW these days.

bug

4. On the eve of Dora’s donor embryo transfer, I called in a favor from my massage therapist friend to go to her hotel room and melt her cares away.
5. This, obviously! Before that, I diplomatically confronted someone for doing something inappropriate instead of smiling and nodding.

Your turn!

Mel is full of original thoughts. For example, Show and Tell.

17 Responses to “Show and Tell: Original Thought”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Very cool award you came up with. Congrats on the other awards. Glad you like the pillow.

  2. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Hey there Santa Claus,:b

    Yes, you are correct…it did seem like a parallel red carpet was being laid out in the blogosphere. I too laid one for you, though I am not sure whether it got hidden by a smother of similar according from several other bloggers.

    I must put on record the fact that you are pretty ‘distinctive’ and original – and that’s highly likeable.

    “Although I appreciate the recognition, I’m not a fan of the chain-letter nature of these awards. Just as I’m not a fan of the emails I receive from my aunt…”

    Yes, it may seem that the awards are chained out, but there is one basic difference. I am not a sucker of chain letter myself. Microsoft is paying me a dollar for every address I send a particular mail to. God’s fury will wreck havoc on me if I do not send this mail to 20 other people within a day of opening the mail and such…I have my own share of crap mails.

    But this is different. First of all, please understand that chain letters and forwards go to every person in the address book. But these blog awards do not. I am a regular reader of about 20-25 blogs, but I sent the awards only 5, 6 or 7 and it takes a lot of thinking to choose people.

    You receive crap and you forward it minus any additions or personal touches….but the blog awards are fun especially for the interesting content that they intend to churn out. I found ‘minute’ things that I may never have known, if not for the honest scrap. For example, these little idiosyncrasies about habits, peculiar experiences and beliefs….what different people cherish.

    The aim of my comment is NOT to convert you. I do NOT even want to convince you…I just wanted to let you know my view point. I hate forwards and do not pass on the turds unless they are specifically fragrant (yikes!), but I think blog awards are just a way of acknowledging something special in that other person and his blog.

    I like the idea of the Original Thoughts Award. I might give it a try… 🙂

    I will let you know when I do.

  3. 'Murgdan' Says:

    So glad I’m not the only one who feels this way about awards…and chain letters. Now I do always appreciate the awards and am so grateful anyone who wants to pass on an award to little old me…I just can’t get myself to play the game that goes along with it. *sigh* Me me me me meme.

  4. Eve Says:

    Well, I get what you mean about awards (and sheesh, I gave you one!). It potentially has the same feel as Facebook pressure to me…don’t do it and look like a jerk, do it and open yourself up to the possiblilty that you’re entire blog-life will be taken up with nominations, lists and copying and pasting URLs!

    BTW, I do love your blog though…so my award was most definitely genuine!

  5. Queenie Says:

    I hate the “pass it on” part of blog awards, too–it always feels like I am imposing on someone (although, I love it when people pass them on to me). Your new award is a great idea.

  6. Arian Says:

    Those are some great awards!

  7. Michell Says:

    Great idea. I rarely do the whole tag other people thing and the e-mails that say you must forward usually get deleted pretty quickly.

  8. Cara Says:

    You are so creative and effective at saying what you mean, without offending!!

    Love that about you!


  9. You are thoughtful and unique as always in coming up with this new award. Although I do have to second WiseGuy’s comments about the nature adn intent of blog awards in comparison to other kinds of forwrds. I like tht blogging awards tend to have more thought involved in them. That being said, if another person tags me on Face.book to tell them 25 things they don’t know about me, I might have to scream.

    Oh, and I LOVE what you did for Dora. It really was a sweet thing. And you could tell from her post how touched she was over it. 🙂


  10. Congrats on your awards. I love your original meme and award, very clever. I really like your questions, too. That pillow is very cute, I won that contest also. Good for you for confronting someone. I hope it made you feel better then the alternative. What you did for Dora was very sweet! Your a great “blog friend”.

  11. bunny Says:

    please know that my intent in nominating you wasn’t to fulfill a quota or to “say something” to you without significance or thought… it was to say “wonderful person, wonderful author, you are someone I admire.” I saw it as passing on the love, not passing on the junk.
    I see where you are coming from, am glad that you were able to do something fun and different with your awards, but wanted to add my two cents to this discussion as one of the “perpetrators”.

  12. Mel Says:

    Wow…I didn’t know about the massage therapist friend. I need to be a lot nicer to you 🙂

  13. Liv Says:

    I feel the same way. I don’t mind receiving one, but I hate passing them on. I like your list of questions that you came up with though. Great job.

  14. Lorza Says:

    Awesome! I have laid out awards for people, but I am still new to this realm of blogging so I plead NEWBIE!!!! You have a great blog, keep up the great writing.
    Here from The Show and Tell Classroom! L at http://www.ttc-wildride.blogspot.com


  15. I was just so freaking stoked that other people actually read the n00b crap I spew, so I love the idea of most awards I’ve seen thus far. I must say I don’t do forwards or chain letters either. I, like wiseguy, nominated the blogs that I find relevant to me and my journey either to date or ongoing, eg ttc blogs, other angel mom’s blogs and other really honest down to earth blogs, hence the honest scrap. I won’t read a blog if it doesn’t keep my interest in some way (unless I am there for support in which case I always do find something to say) plus it was fun reading 10 things about other people that you wouldn’t really know. I didn’t really see it as a chain-letter type thing because its never happened to me before. I can see how you would think that though.

    Although, I guess I learned 5 things about you today through original thought!


  16. agreed with the previous poster – if this came through faceSbook – I’d delete it. like I delete all those “national friendship day” forwards with cute lil teddy bears and old ladies and puppies.

    just my two cents as one of the perps!

  17. Dora Says:

    Love this post! I’m totally with you on this, but then I feel guilty for not doing them. (Although I don’t feel guilty about not passing them on.) Also, I have readers who are not part of our community, and I think the awards and memes are just confusing clutter to them.

    Thank you, thank you, again, for calling in that favor! He is incredible. If this cycle fails and I have to go back, I think I’m just going to have to pay him to work his magic.


Please leave a reply

