Perfect Moment Monday: Perspective

February 2, 2009

I have a long commute for New Job — 50 miles each way. The commute for Old Job is very short, but I make more trips each week to New Job.

Along the way, there are all sorts of sights and businesses that I’ve never heard of. Occasionally I become aware of one, but I rarely make any detours to explore them since that would make the commute even longer.

Last week, I decided to visit a bakery that I’d heard good things about. I specifically had heard that they have good cupcakes, as well as a full range of other tasty baked goods.

One day, I decided to stop there on my way home. I called ahead to find out their closing time. I planned my day so that I could get out of work at a reasonable time. Really, I tried. But it didn’t work out and I left later than I had intended, as happens more often than not.

When I finally left, I set the bakery address on the GPS, and it told me that I would arrive ten minutes before closing time. Not as much time as I’d like, but enough.

Then there was traffic on the side streets getting to the highway. Then more traffic on the highway. The GPS estimated later and later arrival times, and I got more and more agitated. My husband will tell you that I often go with the flow, but when I have a plan, I am extremely reluctant to deviate from it. (Actually, “extremely reluctant” is not what he would say. He would use words like “rigid,” “single-minded,” or “batshit obsessive.”) I tried to make up some time by driving a little faster, but it was hopeless.

As I neared the exit for the bakery, the GPS estimate said that I would arrive three minutes before closing time. It was entirely conceivable that they wouldn’t let me in, and if they did, the few items they hadn’t sold would probably be put away. Not worth the trouble.

So I drove past, my heart still racing from rushing, and grumpy at my plan having been foiled by my own poor planning and excessive workload.

Then I realized something. A flash of perspective:

If the worst thing that happens is that I am not able to buy a cupcake, that is a very good day.

Postscript: DH and I made a trip to the bakery on the weekend. Pretty good, but no cupcakes in stock. See previous statement.

Perfect MomentLori from Weebles Wobblog loves Perfect Moments. I bet she also enjoys cupcakes.

9 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Perspective”

  1. Danielle Says:

    YES! Not being able to get something you want can suck, but often times it could be worse. I’ve learned this lesson many times over.


  2. You would win that bet!

    I, too, could be classified as “batshit obsessive,” so we have THAT in common, too.

    It’s a challenge to know when to hold em and when to fold em. By that, I mean when to persevere and when to flow.

    May you get there for cupcakes before closing time soon.

    🙂 (happy face)

  3. Laura Says:

    i love that post—good way to look at things!


  4. ahahahaha… this reminds me of me! My husband also uses choice phrases such as “anal”, “obssessive compulsive” and “control freak”.

    a really good post on perspective. its not the end of the universe if you don’t get the cupcake, or in my case, the triple chocolate muffin.

    hope you get to indulge in a cupcake soon. and I hope it lives up to the desire for it. =)

  5. Cara Says:

    Oh – I see our connection so clearly now. I have mellowed in my early 30’s – a little – but oh how something like not getting that damned cupcake would have thrown me ALOT in my early 20’s!

    Awesome post and better sentiment!

  6. s.e. Says:

    I will take this analogy with me and mentally refer to it often.

    A cupcakeless day can really be o.k. Thanks for the reminder.

  7. WiseGuy Says:

    Wonderful Insight is often brought out by the most trivial incidents….thanks for sharing!

  8. kat Says:

    I love it when you can find insight in food!!! (especially cupcakes)

  9. awakeintheworld Says:

    I, too, am a big fan of the plan…and tend not to like it if the plan goes awry. Nice perspective on the cupcakes. I’ll try to keep it in mind for my next mental breakdown. 🙂


Please leave a reply

