Show and Tell: Dreaming Makes Life Colourful

January 31, 2009

For this week’s Show and Tell, I will present some artwork that I recently bought. Then, I will announce the winner of this week’s Dirty Laundry contest and her prize, which is related to the artwork.

During the unpleasantness of the 2WW during IVF #2 earlier this month, I did a lot of web-surfing. One of the sites I came across was Wall Blank. I really like the idea of this website: every day, they post one piece of artwork. It is available for purchase for one week, unless it sells out first. Editions seem to run in the range of 50 to 200 prints — small enough that you won’t see the same print at someone else’s house. If by some chance you do, you will be delighted that you both share the same good taste and belong to such an exclusive club. Maybe you’ll then develop a secret handshake.

Some of the art is photography; some are prints of paintings, drawings, mixed media, etc. Prices are extremely affordable for limited edition artwork. Really, extremely affordable — I have paid more than twice as much for photo prints that were 1/4 the size.

Offering a new piece every day brings a fun sense of anticipation and variety; one of my favorite Google Reader clicks every day is the new Wall Blank print. The one-week deadline creates an interesting sense of urgency. One day between IVF #2 transfer and beta day, I was smitten with a photograph. Each day, I would consider whether to buy it. During moments of optimism: art for the baby’s room! During moments of pessimism: art that will remind me of the failed cycle. During moments of realism: art that will simultaneously connect me to the past and the future. Finally, I decided to make the purchase a couple of days before the one-week window closed. Not knowing the outcome of the 2WW, I didn’t know whether optimism, pessimism, or realism would turn out to be correct. I did know that if I failed to seize the opportunity, I would regret it later.

Here is the photo that I purchased (the image is from the Wall Blank website; the print looks even better in person, but I haven’t framed it yet so I can’t show you what it looks like on my wall). The visuals are striking, but the title and description sealed the deal.
dreaming
Dreaming Makes Life Colourful. Description from Wall Blank:

This photo was taken in Seoul during the Buddha’s birthday celebrations. This was taken at Jogyesa, which is one of the temples in central Seoul.

In the Buddhist religion Buddha’s birthday is the equivalent of Christmas for Christians. At this time of year Buddhists can make a wish in the form of a message attached to a lantern. Those wishes are often peoples’ dreams and can include desires for world peace, good health for a loved one, or success in something they’re doing that year. I feel those who are striving to achieve dreams are living life to the full, and as such lead a life full of colour and joy. Every dream has it’s own colour and uniqueness, so hold onto your dreams.

By Simon Bond. An archival pigment print. Includes a signed & numbered certificate of authenticity.

As someone who is in the midst of trying very hard to achieve a long-time dream, this description spoke to me. The British spelling of colourful was icing on the cake.

The one-week deadline has long since expired, so none of you can buy this particular print (sorry!) unless it makes a surprise reappearance someday, but something new appears each weekday. I’ve seen several other offerings that would make nice metaphors for infertility, and many that were aesthetically wonderful.

This brings us to the Dirty Laundry contest winner. Earlier this week I posted ten items of dirty laundry, anonymous bits of honesty about people in my life. I asked readers to guess how many my husband would correctly identify.

He correctly identified most of them instantly. Amusingly, the one that I said would be pretty easy for him actually required extra thought. The one that stumped him the most was ironic: it’s about one of his relatives, and it’s more his complaint than mine — which says something about his attunement to my emotions as well as his own ability to move quickly past things that bother him (an ability that I don’t share). But, after some thought, he got all ten of them correct.

This means that Anita from Hope.Faith.Patience is the winner, since she was the first to guess 100%. Honorable mention (but no prize) to Danielle and Shinejil, who subsequently guessed 10 out of 10.

Anita’s prize is any artwork of her choice from Wall Blank. She can choose something that’s currently for sale, or she can wait until something catches her fancy.

I was all set to pay for the artwork myself, as I have done with my other contests, but in the course of emailing customer service to ask a logistic question about the gift certificate, Wall Blank’s founder Shawn generously offered to provide the print for the contest. Thanks very much, Shawn!

Anita’s IVF cycle was canceled yesterday. I hope that winning this contest will be a pleasant distraction for her, and that she’ll be able to pick a piece of artwork that helps her look to the future, as mine does for me. Congratulations, Anita; I wish you the best with your surgery and the next cycle.

More optimism, pessimism, and realism at Show and Tell.

22 Responses to “Show and Tell: Dreaming Makes Life Colourful”

  1. MrsJoyner Says:

    That is absolutely GORGEOUS!! One of the coolest pictures I have ever seen. I am definitely going to go to the website!! Thank you for the great show & tell.

  2. JuliaS Says:

    What an amazing picture! I love the rainbow-esque effect.

  3. Mel Says:

    I am now deeply intrigued about Wall Blank. What a great site. The picture you purchased is gorgeous–so striking. Your eye just stays on it for a long time.

  4. April Says:

    i love the print. i have never heard of the site…thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Laura Says:

    hey—i am reading thru stirrup queens crem de la crem of 08 and read your beautiful bridges post. 🙂 It made me cry. And now i’m committing myself to reading (and back reading) your blog as often as I can. You’re an interesting person and I enjoy your style—and it helps that we’re all in this over-sized boat of infertility….God bless you and I’m excited to read more!

    Laura


  6. You are one cool and generous chick. Who has very, very good taste.

  7. Michell Says:

    Beautiful photo. I like the description of it also.


  8. ‘Dreaming Makes Life Colourful’ is beautiful and very appropriate!
    Couldn’t stop looking at it!

  9. Photogrl Says:

    The photo is stunning.

    I’m intrigued about Wall Blank…I have a feeling I’m going to be adding it to my reader! 😉

  10. Kami Says:

    That is really pretty. I love the colors. I am going to check out that site right now!!! Thanks

    Kami

  11. Leslie Laine Says:

    I love this website and going to share it with a few of my friends. I’m adding it to my favorites as soon as I finish this comment. Thanks for the tip!

  12. Kristin Says:

    Very cool site and an awesome giveaway!

  13. Brenna Says:

    Oooo, I’m another who hasn’t heard of Wall Blank before and will definitely be checking it out as soon as I leave this comment. The photo is captivating, I love the colors and the description. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Danielle Says:

    Beautiful photo! Good for DH! He got all the answers correct.

  15. Bunny Says:

    I’m very afraid that Wall Blank might become a new addiction. Your print is absolutely beautiful I hope it brings you joy and good dreams each time you look at it.

  16. Lauren Says:

    Got here because I follow WallBlank on twitter. I love your write-up of the site. It’s also one of my favorite places to visit every day. And, knowing Shawn, some days when I see the print I wonder whether it was a last minute choice due to procrastination. 🙂

  17. Liv Says:

    Very cool photo portrait. I’m definitely going to frequent the Wall Blank site. It is right up my alley. Thank you for sharing!

  18. Jamie Says:

    What a stunning piece of art! At the first glance, I never would have guessed it was a photograph.

    I was just lamenting to Hubby last night about my terrible decorating skills. Thanks for the info on the art site! I can use all the help I can get.

  19. WiseGuy Says:

    Awesome photograph! I love the vividness in the colours and the location where it has been clicked!

    Jeez, I wanted to comment yesterday but the Internet Explorer on my Home PC froze!

    Dreaming Makes Life Colourful! It makes life livable!

  20. Anita Says:

    I’m glad I guessed correctly! Your hubby knows you well 🙂 What a generous prize -Thankyou! Also thanks to Wall Blank – you guys are amazing!

    I sent you an email…I hope you got it ok 🙂

    Anita
    p.s You were right this is a great distraction from my cycle dramas

  21. Wishing4One Says:

    What a great site, and another great generous contest from you my dear, too sweet. Lucky Anita how nice of Wall Blank to give her the prize….

  22. Gina Says:

    What a cool concept for a site. Thanks for sharing!


Please leave a reply

