Perfect Moment Monday: Privilege

January 19, 2009

Working on the trick up my sleeve to try to get the next IVF covered, we had to consult our attorney. One of our attorneys, actually. I don’t know where other people find professionals, but DH finds real estate agents at the poker table and dentists at the golf course.

This pattern holds true for our attorneys. We have three attorneys that we consult for different purposes (all DH’s business purposes; I have never before needed an attorney for anything).

  1. Former roommate of a buddy that goes to Vegas with DH sometimes (contract stuff)
  2. Guy that went to high school with this other guy we know (corporate stuff)
  3. Dude that used to play basketball with DH (tax stuff)

I asked DH to contact Basketball/Tax Dude to get clarification about some Trick Up My Sleeve issues. DH received some answers via email, then forwarded the email to me. It only contained partial answers, and I knew that DH would have to go back to Basketball/Tax Dude and get further clarification. As I scrolled to the bottom of the email, I saw a query from Basketball/Tax Dude.

So when are all the little DHs and Cassandras going to start popping out?

Generally that kind of question pisses me off, but this time it amused me. The irony — embedded in an email in which we are consulting him about the Trick Up My Sleeve that may pay for the next IVF(s)!

So then, DH calls Basketball/Tax Dude to get the clarification we need. After some back and forth about business details that I won’t bore you with, Basketball/Tax Dude says, “The only reason you’d need to do that would be if you were doing In Vitro Fertilization or something.”

DH: Yeah, well, actually, that’s exactly it.

Basketball/Tax Dude: Oh. Okay. Then that is the right course of action.

DH: Great, thanks. And, um, we’re not telling people about IVF or anything, so I’d appreciate it if you don’t say anything to anyone.

Basketball/Tax Dude: Dude, attorney-client privilege!

Ha!

It’s official. I am not going to make any new friends unless they are attorneys, physicians, therapists, or priests.

Perfect MomentKnow what? Weebles Wobblog also keeps some tricks up her sleeve, along with a bunch of Perfect Moments.

11 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Privilege”


  1. Or bloggers?

    Yay for tricks and sleeves!

  2. Bunny Says:

    Oooh… I love that your trick is going to work. It must feel like a well deserved sigh of relief! hooray!

  3. Danielle Says:

    That’s great that your trick will work! I’m with Lori about bloggers being your friends ;o)
    Enjoy your day!

  4. Cara Says:

    Your friend list sound great! Reliable and trustworthy. Glad all is looking up, and funded!!!

  5. Cat Says:

    Yeah for your trick working! Is it something you could share with us sometime?

  6. patiencesong Says:

    I’m so happy to hear that the T-U-Y-S is a go! IVF is hard enough and then when you factor in the financial considerations… Good luck!

  7. Bonnie Says:

    Thank you for visiting my little blog. I enjoyed reading you perfect moment! It’s good to have the right friends..haha Bonnie

  8. Kischa Says:

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving the encouraging comments. I love this post!

    Good luck!

  9. Jess Says:

    How wonderful that the trick up your sleeve is going to pain out, AND that you guys have such great connections!

    GOOD LUCK!

    iclw

  10. Valerie Says:

    I am so glad your trick up your sleeve is going to work.

    ICLW

  11. Malky B. Says:

    How about Rabbis too?


Please leave a reply

