Nope

January 14, 2009

It’s confirmed — negative beta.

One benefit of POAS knowledge: the nurse seemed surprised that I took her bad news so well.

One ray of hope: I may have a trick up my sleeve that will allow future IVFs to get covered by insurance — don’t ask yet, since I’m not sure if it’ll work. Sure, it would have been nice if I’d discovered this trick earlier before paying for 2 IVF cycles out of pocket (plus assessment and 2 IUIs earlier in 2008, all of which actually would have been covered by my current health insurance except that I didn’t have this job at the time) but that’s water under the bridge.

Thanks for all of your hope and well wishes.

Now, I’m going to go wash the magic marker PIO targets off my butt.

Edited to add: I’m pasting the timeline here, just so that I have it recorded.
11/20-12/15: BCP
12/19: start stims (Gonal-F)
12/23: blood & U/S
12/23-12/24: Gonal-F plus Repronex — itchy!
12/25-12/28: Gonal-F, Repronex, and Centrotide
12/26: blood & U/S
12/28: blood & U/S
12/29: blood & U/S: follicles are ready; time to trigger!
12/31: egg retrieval, ICSI, start estrogen
1/1: start progesterone in oil
1/2 embryo transfer
1/14: beta: BFN

26 Responses to “Nope”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I hate when POAS is true–not to mention blood tests.
    Your in my thoughts.

  2. Mermaid Says:

    I’m so sorry. ((hugs)) But, horray for insurance coverage!


  3. Thinking of you extra muchly today.

  4. birdsandsquirrels Says:

    Damn. I’m so sorry. I was hoping that the beta would be a surprise positive. I hope the insurance coverage works out.

  5. Cat Says:

    I’m sorry you got a BFN. That really sucks.

  6. Anna Says:

    I am soo very sorry.
    *Huge Hug*

    Anna

  7. kaaron Says:

    Am so very sorry.

  8. Callie Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear your news! I was the same way with my last cycle with respect to POAS. It made for some really bleak days prior to the confirmation – especially because my husband kept saying “well, there’s still hope…”, but then when I got the news, I was prepared for it. I’m very interested to hear what you have cooking on the insurance front!

  9. Cara Says:

    Damn. So sorry. Rays of hope are wonderful, but a burst of suprise joy would have been better. Thinking of you.

  10. Dora Says:

    I’m so sorry. Just sucks. How about a great big drink?

  11. s.e. Says:

    Damn. Damn. Damn. I had not given up hope for you.

    You sound so strong already looking ahead. I hope you feel that way.

  12. luna Says:

    sorry. I agree about the poas’ing beforehand. I’ve never had a beta drawn, but if I had, I’d want some idea beforehand if it was not good news.

  13. 'Murgdan' Says:

    I’m so F&^%$N sorry…GRRRRRR.


  14. Damn! So sorry. I’m glad you are moving forward confidently. Can’t wait to here this little scheme of yours… πŸ˜‰

  15. April Says:

    😦 i’m so sorry.

    *great big hugs*

  16. Krysta Says:

    I’m so sorry. You are in my thoughts and prayers. HUGS!!!

  17. samcy Says:

    Aw hon, I’m so sorry to hear this. ((((HUGS))))


  18. really sorry. i’ve been thinking about you a lot during this process and hoping for the best. i hope you can figure out how to get insurance to pay for it. and extra thoughts and prayers going up for you as you move forward. big hug.

  19. Jane G Says:

    Sorry to hear this.

  20. Mel Says:

    Sweetie, I’m sorry. That absolutely sucks about the negative.

  21. dreamingsoul Says:

    I am so very sorry.


  22. the words ” sorry” are just not enough, but know that we are out here supporting you through this. Cry it out, pat yourself on the back for all the hard work put into this. Grab your bootstraps and gear up for the next phase. Lean on us when you need.
    great blog btw. Thanks for peeking at mine.

  23. geohde Says:

    I am so sorry.

    J

  24. Bunny Says:

    Drat. I am so sorry.

  25. Malky B. Says:

    I’m sorry. 😦

  26. Nity Says:

    I’m so sorry. I was super hopeful. Ugh.
    ~~HUGS~~


Please leave a reply

