And now for something completely different…

January 14, 2009

Warning: This post is not about IVF, betas, or peeing on sticks. Read at your own risk.

I just heard something I have never heard before, in 33 years of being my mother’s daughter.

My mother giggled.

My mother complains to me about the neighbor’s cat almost daily. In the midst of today’s complaints, she was telling me about how the cat set off the motion detector lights in the driveway. And then she giggled. “Hee hee.”

Honestly, I can never recall my mother giggling before. My mother’s laughter repertoire otherwise consists of:

  • uncontrollable hysterical laughing for 5 or 10 minutes, usually at totally inappropriate times like funerals (and once in college, famously, in the middle of a play — while she was on stage)
  • silence when she doesn’t get the joke while everyone else laughs
  • sarcastic deadpan “ha ha”
  • “Are you trying to be funny?”
2 Responses to “And now for something completely different…”

  1. Cara Says:

    I can’t remember the last time I heard my mother laugh – let alone giggle and we live VERY close.


  2. Isn’t it lovely that even after years pass, that we can still be surprised by those in our life?


Please leave a reply

