Fertilization Report

January 1, 2009

Houseguests are going fine, except that I am constitutionally incapable of not lifting a finger.

New Year’s party was surprisingly painless emotionally though pretty painful physically. Rather than gathering everyone into the living room and doing a grand announcement as I expected, the announcement was made with people gathered tightly into the foyer. I was so far on the fringe of the crowd that I couldn’t hear what Mr. Other Host said, nor see either of their faces. When the message passed down the line, Telephone-style, the person next to me said, “The Other Hosts are having a baby!” I said dryly, “Yeah, I know.” And then I seemed to be in the in-crowd, gifted with advance intel, rather than a wretch whose feelings must be protected.

After getting home late (awake for 22 hours not counting being unconscious under anesthesia and a couple of 15-minute naps), I got an early call from the head embryologist. I’ve never spoken to her before, but I’ve always heard very good things about her expertise and kind manner. She said:

  • 9 eggs retrieved
  • 6 mature (I’m assuming it’s the same 6 large follicles that I saw in the ultrasound)
  • 6 received ICSI
  • 5 fertilized
  • 1 has vacuoles
  • 4 look “quite nice”
  • 2-day transfer on Friday

2009 is starting off well already! Hope the same is true for all of you.

22 Responses to “Fertilization Report”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Great news on the fert report…good luck with the transfer…great way to start the year, that’s for sure!

  2. kaaron Says:

    That’s a great report! Best of luck!

  3. Cara Says:

    I’ve got goose pimples! That is great news. I’m salivating for the day you get to make a GRAND announcement!

  4. Danielle Says:

    2009 sure is starting out great for you! WOOOHOO!!!
    Sending you lots of big hugs and good juju!


  5. Wow! Crossing all my crossables.

  6. isothegoldenegg Says:

    That’s great! Hoping 2009 is the year for us!

  7. Mo Says:

    What a great way to ring in the New Year! Fingers and Toes crossed – will be checking back. Sounds like you may be a mama in 2009 : )

    Thanks for your well-wishes for my friend R. that you left on my site last week. She has now reached 29 weeks (as of yesterday) and is still holding steady.

    Happy New Year!

    Mo

  8. katery Says:

    that’s awesome, congratulations!

  9. Kathy Says:

    Congrats and good luck tomorrow!

  10. Mermaid Says:

    Good luck tomorrow!

  11. Clio Says:

    good news. 🙂
    Crossing my fingers for you tomnorrow and for the next two weeks.

  12. WiseGuy Says:

    Wowwie….congratulations and all the very best! Cheers!

  13. Imogen Says:

    Oooo best of luck for transfer tomorrow!

  14. dreamingsoul Says:

    YIPPEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thinking about you and hoping for a smooth and easy transfer. Feet up afterward, my friend!!

  15. Heather Says:

    Sounds like an excellent fertilization report to me!!! Happy New Year and good luck with your transfer! Take it easy the next several days after the transfer. My doctor had me on bedrest for 24 hours and then I took it easy around the house for the following 2 more days after that. And two stuck this time, so I’m not sure if it helps. Lots of luck!!!

  16. April Says:

    Yea!!! That’s such a great way to start of the new year! Woo hoo!

  17. Beth Says:

    I’m de-lurking to say Happy New Year and to send best wishes for a successful transfer. It sounds like you’re off to a great start. Love the socks and I’ll be wearing my own lucky socks to all my appointments.

  18. Kahla Says:

    Hoping that your transfer went smoothly today and you were able to get lots of rest!

  19. Dorothy Dortin Says:

    Arkansas bill 1017….good news!

    I know this wasn’t just an ‘ordinary’ week for you, but you were gracious enough to lend your voice so here is the outcome.
    What follows is an abbreviated version of phone and email my DIL had with the rep:
    ~would she ‘remove or delete the posts from her personal weblog that mention him or the bill at her earliest convenience’
    (he went there voluntarily and the comments he posted were deliberate)

    ~he will ‘take measures to ensue that the bill is not considered by any legislative committee'(consider it dead)

    ~he now understands more about “her” side.

    ~he was wrong quoting that insurance rates would drop.

    So there you have it. The clinic can continue its good work and thousands of women in Arkansas can hold out hope for a family of their own, not going into debt in the process.

    I’m not sure as to the quick change of opinion and direction, but if he WAS following her blog then maybe he decided he had bitten off more than he could chew.

    Again, many thanks. I’m following your journey, destination…back seat.

    Dorothy
    Cincinnati, Ohio


  20. Wishing you all the best with your transfer and cycle — hope you get your BFP in a couple of weeks! And may I say how impressed I am that you dealt with houseguests (and a pg announcement) following an egg retrieval? Honestly, the things we do.

  21. birdsandsquirrels Says:

    Thinking of you, and hoping the transfer yesterday went well. I hope this is it for you guys!


Please leave a reply

