Show and Tell: Infertility Christmas Card

December 21, 2008

First of all, I will not be posting the winner and prize for last week’s Creme de la Creme contest. Because nobody won. So instead, you should come back in a couple of days for a multiple choice version of the contest. It involves picking a number between 1 and 10 — do you know any other contest with odds this good?

This week for Show and Tell, I offer up an Infertility Christmas Card. Last year I received a literal infertility Christmas card, but that’s a long story that I’ll tell later this week. It’s a story that I want to scream from the rooftops, but I can’t tell people IRL without outing myself as infertile, so instead it’s just between you and me, Internets.

This past week when we were refugees/nomads during the ice storm and subsequent almost weeklong power outage, I spent lots of time in places where I normally spend little or no time. One day I went to a local pharmacy (not a local branch of a big chain, but an actual local mom-and-pop pharmacy) to buy B6 vitamins since I’d left my bottle at home, in my fleeing haste. In the process of browsing the quirky offerings of the store, I came across a small display of boxed Christmas cards. Normally stores have a dozen to choose from, or two dozen, or more, but this little store had only 5. I almost fainted when I read the words on one of them.

card1

Huh? What the hell kind of Christmas card is that? Is someone really making Christmas cards to announce infertility? What?!?

Then my eyes zoomed out and I looked at the cartoon.

card2

Okay, that’s kind of weird. Not an infertile 30-something woman, but a horse. Hmm. Zoom out again.

card3

Oh!

It’s kind of funny from a neutral standpoint, but from an IF standpoint, it is funny on so many levels. And also not funny at all.

Go enjoy more holiday goodness (and some non-holiday goodness) at Show and Tell.

27 Responses to “Show and Tell: Infertility Christmas Card”

  1. April Says:

    i love this card! especially b/c my sister always asked for a pony! 🙂
    (iclw)

  2. Gina Says:

    nice. thanks for sharing!

  3. Valerie Says:

    Wow for a minute I really thought you had found an IF Christmas card. I hope you have power back now and are warm and cozy in your own home.

    ICLW

  4. Lindsay Says:

    Ha ha. I sooo would have read it the way you posted it. You zoom in first and then see the actual card. Too funny.

  5. loribeth Says:

    LOL… it’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it??

  6. a Says:

    Great buildup!

    I don’t think that pony is getting its child for Christmas – the horseshoe is upside down and all the luck is running out…

  7. Cara Says:

    The best part of your show and tell is HOW you saw it! Not top-down if you will but bottom-up. That is what makes it an IF card. Perspective is a wild thing.

  8. isothegoldenegg Says:

    Wow! I can just imagine your heart racing as you saw the first part of that card! Mind f#@k.

  9. bellaandherfella Says:

    IF has given made me relate everything I see to not being able to have children. I didn’t even get the “I want a pony” reference at first. Duh.

    ICLW.

  10. Malky B. Says:

    Great card and if it was a woman on the card I don’t think it would have been so surprising. People are talking more openly about IF and what greater gift to ask for.

    ICLW


  11. I have always been relatively torn with emotions at Christmas…. on one hand I love getting the family pictures/family letters from my friends, and on the other hand I sometimes loathe them.

    This, however, cracked me up. Thanks for the smile!

    GreenEggs

    *iclw*

  12. Stephanie Says:

    I agree with Loribeth… a matter of perspective.

    It can be really funny, or really sad. Hmm.
    Or just okay, lol.

    Thanks for sharing that, I like the way you presented it to us!

  13. shauna Says:

    I love that I’m not the only one that sees everything through infertility/loss shaded glasses.

    Happy Holidays!
    ICLW

  14. Kara Says:

    I actually got excited for a moment thinking they are making IF Christmas cards.

    I agree with Shauna above, I look at everything with that IF view now.

    Have a great holiday!
    ICLW -Kara

  15. Michell Says:

    That is kind of funny.

  16. Echloe Says:

    Very cute. I may have to actually write a letter like that to santa.

    ICLW

  17. Danielle Says:

    Like you said, kinda funny, but not.
    Hope all your household issues got solved with your insurance.
    Enjoy your day,
    -D *ICLW*

  18. samcy Says:

    Do you think it will help to ask Santa for a child? Cos if it would I would write a thousand such letters…

    Definitley a matter of perspective on this one – bad IF day = a crying jag at seeing this card. Good IF day = maybe a smile at it…

    xxx

  19. WiseGuy Says:

    The title literally screams at the reader…I was not smiling at the card. Umm…I wonder why?

  20. Bunny Says:

    love it! love it! and where you found it makes it even better.

  21. Mermaid Says:

    That was great.

  22. m Says:

    I laughed. A lot. Funny, but not. But IF does something a bit funny to senses of humor, no?

    Really liked your reveal. Made it even better. Thanks for sharing.

    iclw

  23. Wishing4One Says:

    Awesome card! (I’m waiting to pick my number too…Mama wants another vase, LOLLLLLLLLLLL !!!! )

  24. Erin Says:

    LOL, that card is funny. IF can be funny at times, but mostly so heart breaking.

    I do like that card. I hope your holidays are happy!

    ICLW.

  25. Linda Says:

    That is a GREAT card! I love the different shots of it too! Amazing what you can find isn’t it?

  26. Sam Says:

    what a strange Christmas card!! But then I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised one day to find a card for every possible circumstance on earth!!

    Merry Christmas!

  27. celia Says:

    I think it’s really funny, but if it caught the corner of my eye while Christmas shopping I would probably have started crying.


Please leave a reply

