Less Than Perfect Tuesday: Oops

December 16, 2008

To be added to the list of Things That Wake You Up from a Deep Sleep as well as the list of Ice Storm Casualties:

A proper infertile would have brought the Gonal-F in her fridge along when she fled the ice storm. Maybe the hundreds of progesterone suppositories too, if she could have found room. Or at least left the meds outside the fridge in on the counter, since the house would eventually cool to about 5 degrees Celcius while the fridge paradoxically warmed.

I, apparently, am not a proper infertile. The meds are now useless — or if not useless, at least not to be trusted.

When I woke up with the “Oh no!” realization, DH asked how much it was worth. I said, “hundreds.” I’d forgotten the actual cost, which for the Gonal-F alone is over $700 that I paid out of pocket at the end of IVF #1, not knowing how many more days of stims I’d need. (This, perhaps, is why he was able to roll over and go back to sleep while I got up in a huff and went to blog about it.) This is the very same packet of medication that required so much effort and espionage to hide when DH’s family came to visit. I have removed and replaced them from the fridge strategically a dozen times in the past six months — just not the one time that actually mattered.

I wonder if (homeowners) insurance will cover my lost meds. (Health) insurance didn’t cover them when I got them in the first place!

Did I mention that yesterday I authorized a charge of over $10K on my credit card for IVF #2? $700 is a drop in the bucket compared to that, but on the other hand, arrrrgh!

Zen attitude currently on hiatus… at least until breakfast.

9 Responses to “Less Than Perfect Tuesday: Oops”

  1. Clio Says:

    Sister, don’t freak out.
    If your meds were not exposed to a temperature over 70F, they are good for a month. You can still use them.
    10k on your creditcard is sure a lot! wow! the things we do…
    hoping the light comes back soon and that you are all safe and sound.

  2. Bunny Says:

    Errgh. All the things we need to keep in mind– and in the middle of an ice storm! I hope your meds survive. If not, I’d give the homeowner’s a try… it is amazing what can be covered. I had a friend whose car was broken into and her homeowner’s insurance covered the stolen items. Hopefully you’ll get some answers today and can get a good night’s sleep tonight!

  3. katery Says:

    oh my god that SUCKS.

  4. Danielle Says:

    I hope the meds will still work for ya. $700 is a lot of money to just go to waste. I hope you get home soon!
    Hugs,
    -D


  5. Jikes! Hope the meds are still OK, or at least the insurance will cover them. Good luck!

  6. Wishing4One Says:

    Wow, what a thought. I think your homeowners should cover. Any winners yet in your submitted post? I am still looking and have narrowed down a few, will email you soon.

  7. Shinejil Says:

    It’s funny how expenses that would normally make my head explode seem like nothing when it come to IF.

    I doubt the meds went much about freezing. 🙂 I bet they are still good, too. Why not check the temp in the fridge when you go home, just in case?


  8. Oh no! I am so sorry, I really hope your homeowners covers it or that you can still use it. Deep breaths…

  9. kaaron Says:

    That sucks. I felt a knot in my stomach when I read that. I hope your HO insurance covers. Thanks for dropping by my blog!


Please leave a reply

