Show and Tell: Pink

November 30, 2008

Yesterday while tidying up I found the Vogue magazine that I had been reading in the hospital before my hysteroscopy. When I picked the magazine up, I found some photos tucked inside that I’d never seen before.

Can you guess what they are?

dscf9527

dscf9528

Did you guess?

No? I’ll give you a second to think about it…

Ready?

They are photos of my uterus — from the inside! Something I never ever expected to accidentally find lying around the house. Never ever ever.

I knew that Dr. Full Steam Ahead showed the photos to DH, but I didn’t know (since I was unconscious at the time, and DH never mentioned it) that he gave us a copy to take home. And therefore I also didn’t know that DH tucked the pictures into Vogue. Surprise! No, that’s not a Dolce & Gabbana maxi dress, it’s your empty womb!

DH was 100% right when he described the photos simply as pink.

Randomly discovering photos of your uterus… one of those moments that only infertility can deliver.

If you’d like to see what else people have brought for Show and Tell this week, head over to Miss Lollipop’s circle time. It’s a pretty safe bet that no one else brought a uterus. If someone else also has internal photos of their reproductive organs, I would be so embarrassed! Embarassed at the duplication, not at showing the world pictures of my hoo-hah. That is no problem, obviously.

16 Responses to “Show and Tell: Pink”


  1. It is beautiful! I love the way the images levitate, so buoyant.

    Looks like a lovely environment for a lucky soul.

    And. You crack me up.

  2. Kristin Says:

    That’s kind of cool.

  3. Barreness Says:

    I have a series of photos of my endometriosis-infested private parts somewhere in my offce 😉

  4. WiseGuy Says:

    Yes…I guessed those right away…I have a video.

    And now you know your hubby’s response really was what clicked to him right away!

  5. luna Says:

    I actually knew what they were because I have some of my own. I remember my hub telling people about the personal show-and-tell my surgeon did for him while I was in recovery… bizarre, isn’t it?

  6. Murgdan Says:

    Well…what a lovely uterus. :-)…and to have already posed in Vogue. Famous!

  7. Cara Says:

    Well, that was an issue one would never expect. What an interesting show and tell. It certainly reminds me to never think I know where everything is!

  8. Heather Says:

    Too funny! And lots of luck on your next IVF!!!

  9. Malky B. Says:

    I would never have guessed what that was. I asked my daughter about the napkin collection – they carry it around in a folder or shoe box.

  10. Clare Says:

    The funny twists and turns of this journey eh? Best of luck!

  11. Brenda Says:

    Ahh, I guessed it too! I guess those of us lucky enough to have had the vag-cam know about the lovely pink pictures. But hey, the first time I had that procedure done, my Dr. said that my uterus looked “fluffy” on the inside….hmmmmmm. Good luck for all things ahead of you!

  12. Sam Says:

    wow!!! That’s a heck of a photo to have, but he’s right they are simply pink! But just think – how many other people have a photo quite like that!!?

  13. Meredith Says:

    Funny. I knew exactly what it was!

  14. Shelby Says:

    Lol, I just realized how ingrained I am into this IF world because when I read this, I thought it was a pretty commonplace thing to happen upon pics of one’s uterus until it dawned on me. Oh, wait. Maybe not. 🙂

    I must say, your uterus seems attractive from my vantage point, lol. 🙂 Maybe that’s why it was in Vogue to begin with!

  15. Malky B. Says:

    Thanks for the recent comment on our site. I have some mixed feelings myself about this kit especially the price. I think a fair price would be $100 – $150 not $300. I did do some research about cervical cups in general and they are sometimes used in doctors offices. Doctors aren’t too fond of the old ones because the patient had to lie there the whole time taking up office space.

    I did think the doc had some good things to say about the accuracy of LH sticks and any means of trying to track ovulation. I thought that was very helpful at least.

  16. Wishing4One Says:

    What a pretty uterus. I actually did not know what they were as I have never had any taken.

    You said… “Maybe Egyptians aren’t such sticklers about punctuality? ”

    LOLLLLLLLLLLLLL

    Here we have time and “Egyptian Time”, if they say 1PM, it really means 3-4PM…..so our minor lateness was nothing for them!


Please leave a reply

