Optimistic

November 28, 2008

Be optimistic!
Don’t you be a grumpy
When the road gets bumpy
Just smile
–Shirley Temple, Be Optimistic

(I haven’t watched this since I was a child; the other kids are a little creepy, but Shirley is, as always, a doll)

After more than 7 years, I am back on The Pill.

Just for a few weeks — don’t worry, I haven’t given up TTC. It’s the pre-cycle before IVF #2, which will start in mid-December. Finally!

This week I saw Dr. Full Steam Ahead for the post-op appointment following the recent hysteroscopy. I’ve never seen him so optimistic. He all but guaranteed a baby from this next cycle. It was encouraging, but at the same time it’s a little hard to believe. He is aggressive, obviously, or he wouldn’t be named Dr. Full Steam Ahead, and I don’t think he’s the type to make promises that are flatly false. But, after so many big and small letdowns, including the first injectible+IUI cycle this year where I was sure something would finally work after all these years and then M/C #2 after IVF #1 this summer, it’s really difficult to put my whole heart in it. But I am somewhat hopeful that it may finally work, perhaps if not with IVF #2 then maybe with the FETs that follow, or IVF #3… optimistic, but not overly optimistic.

I had no reason to be over optimistic,
But somehow when you smiled
I could brave bad weather
–The Who, 1921

The plan:

  • Now: Birth control pills (instead of Lupron which I used for IVF #1)
  • Mid December: Gonal-F + Repronex, then Antagon
  • Late December: IVF with ICSI
  • Then: Progesterone in Oil (Designated Husband transforms into Designated Hurter + Doting Hugger)

This one’s optimistic
This one went to market
This one just came out of the swamp
This one dropped a payload
Fodder for the animals
Living on an animal farm
If you try the best you can
If you try the best you can
The best you can is good enough
–Radiohead, Optimistic

10 Responses to “Optimistic”

  1. Barreness Says:

    I’ve decided today to try to lift myself out of the doldrums and start being optimistic too.

    I hear you sista!

  2. Mrs Woggie Says:

    That is great! I’m glad your doctor is feeling so optimistic for you! I will too then! All my optimisim is being sent your way! Good luck with IVF #2! I love that first clip of Shirley!

  3. Murgdan Says:

    Well…it sounds like an optimistic (and good plan). I’m even feeling optimistic for you! Good luck on lucky #2.

  4. WiseGuy Says:

    Nice Post! And it is a good idea to have IVF w/ICSI. All the best!!!!

  5. Dora Says:

    Yay for optimism!!

  6. Cara Says:

    Great visuals to go with a great message!

    Optimism and good thoughts go a looooong way!

    Sending some!

  7. mountcool2000 Says:

    I don’t think optimism is a cure-all (otherwise no happy people would be infertile) but I do think it goes a long way to making a cycle more tolerable. And that is big.

    Good luck with your protocol changes – sounds like yours are similar to the changes we made from IVF#1 to IVF#2…and that’s worked out pretty well so far.

    (As for your comment on my blog, as a kid I always thought the Human Trampoline was something dirty too – I’m still not sure it isn’t, actually! But I love it in the context I used it too. God bless Paul Simon!)

  8. bunny Says:

    A good dose of optimism goes a long, long way. I am glad you are filled with the feeling that the glass is half full. How else would we make it through all of these trials and tribulations? Best wishes!

  9. Heather Says:

    Thanks! I needed that as I’m anxiously awaiting my first ultrasound tomorrow and trying not to have DBTs (dead baby thoughts). I love the Shirley Temple one. I loved her movies when I was a kid.


  10. I love the nickname Dr. Full Steam Ahead. We loved how aggressive our IVF doctor was. She got us pregnant sooner than a few people I’ve heard of with similar problems and was completely balls to wall. She broke it down from the beginning as Operation Get Baby and we really appreciated that.


Please leave a reply

