Show and Tell: Mojo Socks

November 23, 2008

Earlier this week I told you about the saga of my demolished pottery projects, oh so many demolished projects… sigh…

Yes, so anyway, back to the task at hand. So, I told you about how, to console myself, I wandered into a local fair trade clothing boutique. I stumbled upon socks that bestowed peace upon me, because I realized that I could bring someone else a smile and hopefully some good luck in an upcoming cycle.

First, I present the socks.

Mojo Socks

They are hand-crafted in Vermont by The Sock Lady of Solmate Socks out of recycled cotton. They are purposely mismatched — which seems especially fitting for those of us for whom things haven’t always gone as expected. They are really cuddly. I can’t vouch for the fit because I didn’t want to try on socks that I’d be giving to someone else, but the saleslady said they’re extremely comfortable.

And now, the winner…

The worthy recipient of these socks will be Miss Conception. She was nominated by Merlot from Swimming Against the Tide. Here’s a little summary of Miss Conception’s history, in her own words.

We have been trying to conceive since 2000, have gone through 6 IUIs, 2 fresh IVFs, and 2 Donor Embryo cycles. We managed to get pregnant with twins but lost them at 8 weeks last December 13th. We got pregnant again in April, but lost that pregnancy 8 weeks later. We started to pursue adoption in 2005 and are waiting for a referral from China sometime in 2011. We were considered by a birthmom in the summer, but she chose the other couple in consideration. It’s been quite a rollercoaster ride.

Miss Conception is past due for some good luck. Please join me in wishing her all the best in her upcoming FET and beyond. Thanks also to Merlot for nominating such a worthy recipient.

If you’d like to see what else people have brought for Show and Tell this week, head over to circle time.

21 Responses to “Show and Tell: Mojo Socks”

  1. luna Says:

    the socks are super cute, and you are too sweet. love this idea.


  2. Thank you again…so very much. I can’t wait to get them and to receive all of the good vibes that are being sent our way. I am continually amazed at this incredible community of support.
    Thanks also to my very good friend, Merlot for nominating me. She is incredible. 🙂

  3. Emily Says:

    perfect socks. perfect for those cold nights to warm the toes!

  4. Martha Says:

    Adorable socks! I love that you are “paying kindness forward”, hmm, I need to do that too! Thank you also for stopping by my blog.

  5. Lee Says:

    Those look very comfortable and super cute!

  6. Elana Says:

    I love the socks! Purple is one of my favorite colors, too. A+ on what you’re doing with them too. Here from ICLW.

  7. bellaandherfella Says:

    What a sweet idea! TYhose socks look like great Christmas gifts!

    ICLW

  8. Michell Says:

    What fantastic socks. They look so comfy. Someone sent me miss matched socks for luck on my cycle. They are so fun.

  9. Dora Says:

    Awesome! Miss Conception is so deserving!

    Someone sent me lucky IVF socks, too. I wore them for my transfer today. 🙂

  10. Annie Says:

    I can’t think of anyone else I would rather see this socks go to!

  11. Malky B. Says:

    Great socks. I like that they are not exactly the same.

  12. dragondreamermom Says:

    Those socks are really cool. What a wonderful gift. I hope they bring her the luck she so richly deserves.

    ICLW

  13. Meredith Says:

    So glad you posted this! I just got my mom in a pollyanna and she is a sock junkie! They are so cool – a perfect gift.

  14. Michelle Says:

    I love love love those socks. They look so comfy!


  15. Those socks look VERY snuggle worthy! And I LOVE the colors!

    ICLW

  16. Echloe Says:

    Nice socks. I love things that aren’t matchy matchy.

    ICLW

  17. Wishing4One Says:

    How super sweet the socks are and I love that you are always so generous and kind. Still waiting for you here, after your other travel destinations are made first of course. xoxoxoxox

  18. Alicia Says:

    oh yay! lucky fertility socks! I was given a pair the cycle I concieved little Twinkle! so I hope the recipent gets lucky this cycle with those too!!

    here from ICLW

  19. Stacie Says:

    The socks are great! I love that they are mismatched–and you are so right, it is totally fitting for IF. Miss Conception is a wonderful recipient, too! 🙂

    Here from ICLW

  20. Anne Says:

    Cassandra-

    Thank you so very much for your sympathy. With each new loss I find myself still more grateful for the community of writing women, who just happen to suffer from IF, that I’ve found on the web.

  21. onebagnation Says:

    A friend of mind loves those socks! This pair is a beautiful color, and I have to agree that the winner could use some cheering up!


Please leave a reply

