Behind the Scenes

November 22, 2008

One nice thing about having a blog is that I have an audience to whom to relate the special moments of my life, even when they don’t relate to IF.

I was just in my local upscale supermarket (largely organic, locally produced when possible, etc.) and was surprised to round a corner into an aisle and almost walk straight into a cameraman. He was filming a mother and her 5-year-old son “shopping.” I assume they were filming a local television ad for the market. From what I could tell, the mom is a regular shopper, not an actress. She was going about her shopping, but she was playing up certain things for the camera. The boy was entirely being himself.

Mom, unusually articulately and with a blank smile not seen since 1950s family sitcoms: “Which cereal would you like to try this week? There are so many here that you love.”
Son, oblivious to camera and therefore stepping on cameraman’s foot to access his selection: “This one! This one!”
Mom, to cameraman: “Uh, sorry.”

As they were setting up for the next shot, the cameraman made an offhand observation.

Cameraman: “Wow, this stuff is really expensive.”
Mom: “Ugh, tell me about it!”

My instinct tells me that certain scenes may end up on the cutting room floor.

Show and Tell coming soon… Happy ICLW!

7 Responses to “Behind the Scenes”

  1. mrsamymarie Says:

    That’s pretty funny.

    ICLW

  2. luna Says:

    very amusing.

  3. Cara Says:

    Classic. I’ll have to try on that 1950’s face, but I have a feeling it won’t fit into my life.

  4. April Says:

    ha ha. something’s wrong when you spend your whole paycheck at the store on groceries!!!

  5. Erin Says:

    ICLW! That is pretty funny. We refer to a store like that as Whole Paycheck. I have only been there to browse and once have dinner from the salad bar.

    Love the socks in the post above!

  6. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    LOLOL…Very funny…I guess the little boy must have received good amount of music from his mother later….


Please leave a reply

