Show and Tell: Cherimoya

November 16, 2008

This week’s Show and Tell is a fruit that many of you may be unfamiliar with. I present the cherimoya. It is a bumpy green-gray fruit indigenous to the Andes. You’d never pass by a display of cherimoyas and think to yourself, “Yum, I’ve got to have one of those!” But I’m letting you in on the secret.

Cherimoya

I ate my first cherimoya several years ago at a farmer’s market. At that point, it was difficult to find them in the United States. I believe that I paid $11 for that first cherimoya.

Imagine my surprise this week to find it in my local grocery store. It did cost $5 — the price has decreased, but it still shocked DH when the cherimoya popped up on the cash register. I assured him that if I keep buying them, the price will go down.

DH: Do you know what economists would call someone like you?
Me: A maven?
DH: Chump.

It’s totally worth it. The cherimoya has a texture like custard or sherbet (which is why I recommend scooping out the flesh with a spoon, as if you were eating pudding inside a fruit skin). The flavor reminds me of a mild kiwi. Wikipedia calls the flavor a cross between a banana, pineapple, and strawberry. The flavor has also been described as a combination of mango, papaya, banana, and coconut. Mark Twain called it “deliciousness itself.”

To be honest, this cherimoya wasn’t as good as others I’ve had. I was so concerned that I would wait too long to eat it and it would spoil, that I suppose I erred in the other direction and ate it before it was entirely ripe. But if you can get the timing right, you’ll rarely eat a better fruit.

Just don’t eat the seeds.

Cherimoya interior

If a child brought a fruit to Show and Tell, they’d be laughed out of the classroom. This is why we have Show and Tell 2.0.

15 Responses to “Show and Tell: Cherimoya”

  1. Kymberli Says:

    I’ve never heard of such a creation, but it sounds delicious! Anything even remotely flavored like kiwi and pineapple would be a welcome treat to me!

  2. Nity Says:

    I’m so glad to hear your surgery went well!! Was definitely sending you positive vibes, even if I hadn’t commented recently. :o)
    I love the husband description. That’s awesome.
    And I love cherimoyas. They are awesome, totally tasty and delicious. I haven’t been able to find tasty ones here though. Maybe I need to look harder?!
    **HUGS**

  3. Clare Says:

    Oh.. You have me sold. I will have to find one of these someday, although I suspect it will be awhile before I arrives where I live.

    And honestly, I once brought a pomegranate to school to show and tell– I wasn’t exactly laughed at but I think I secured my status as ‘odd.’

  4. Stephanie Says:

    Hmm… if they sold those around here I’d buy on for my little brother. He loves trying fruits that aren’t common. He gets a little adventure out of it 🙂

  5. Shaz Says:

    Never heard of it before and it looks kinda weird too.

  6. fatty Says:

    That is an interesting fruit, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen one. Sounds delicious though.

  7. WiseGuy Says:

    Wow, had never heard about the cherimoya before. Thx for introducing me to such an uncommon fruit. It does appear to be a distant cousin of the custard apple. Its appearance indicates it to be a rich source of Iron and antioxidants.

  8. Cara Says:

    I’m always up for something new and tasty…wonder if our supermarket has them? I’ll post if they do.

  9. Murgdan Says:

    Now THAT sounds good. I’m on the lookout!

  10. JuliaS Says:

    I will have to keep my eye out here – I think we’d really like that around my house!

    Thanks for sharing – I think it’s cool, even if it is fruit!

  11. Kristin Says:

    Oooh….yummy!

  12. Shawna Says:

    Cool, I have never heard of those. That sounds really good!


  13. You’ve brought something new to my life. Now I’m on a search at our specialty grocers. Sounds yummy!

  14. Sam Says:

    how odd – have never heard of such a fruit and I do think that it looks rather like a rock!!

  15. mrs spock Says:

    I’ve never heard of this fruit before- now it’s on the must-try list!


Please leave a reply

