Happy Birthday to Me

November 3, 2008

I’ve never ever minded getting older before. I might not tell you my weight, but I will tell you my age happily. My mother, on the other hand, actually used to tell me to lie about my age around her friends to make her seem younger.

DH and most of our friends are a year or two older than I am, and some of my friends are several to many years older, so I’m usually one of the youngest people around. Throughout different stages of my career I have been the youngest or one of the youngest people around. I am almost always the one to ask the Four Questions at the Passover Seder, even in my 30s.

Now, I have made the transition from early 30s to mid 30s, and for the first time, I’m not 100% happy about that number. Not because of mortality, or what it means for my career, but entirely because of the fertility implications. I wonder at what point the RE stops saying, “You’re still young.” This year? Next year?

In other news, I’ve had two pieces of birthday cake so far over the weekend and haven’t been satisfied with either. I’ll keep seeking out new pieces of cake until I am satisfied.

8 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Happy happy HAPPY birthday! I’ve never been the youngest, usually the oldest, but ALWAYS the shortest. I hope ALL your wishes come true this year!
    Hugs,
    -D

  2. nadia Says:

    A very happy and blessed birthday to you! I’ve always been the oldest and the tallest. My aunts always tell me to lie about my age too, just so they can lie about theirs πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a fabulous year ahead of you. Enjoy your day!

  3. Nity Says:

    Happy Birthday!! I hope you had a great day and the cake was delicious.
    **HUGS**

  4. Anna Says:

    A Very HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you!
    Hope you make a wish and it absolutely comes true.
    Best wishes,
    and here’s to more many even happier birthdays!

    God Bless,
    Anna

  5. Anna Says:

    … here’s to many more even happier birthdays!

    God Bless,
    Anna

  6. kirke Says:

    I love when the RE says, “You’re still young,” but I know as I’m in my early thirties the clock is ticking.

    Happy Birthday!

  7. Malky B. Says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m so with you by not being happy about my new age – I turned 39 on Nov. 2. Yikes – where did my 30’s go – it goes by so much faster than your 20’s.

  8. Mel Says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you found even more cake πŸ™‚


Please leave a reply

