Show and Tell: Infertility Pottery Part 2

October 5, 2008


At last week’s Show and Tell, I showed you three pots I’d made. For each of them, I textured the pot (either the clay or the glaze) using gauze from injections I gave myself during IVF #1. Each of the pots is nice, but none of them turned out the way I’d intended.

Today you get to see the good one.

Like two of last week’s pots, for this week’s plate I used the gauze at the glazing stage. Specifically, I used the gauze in combination with wax resist, as I did with the darkest blue cup last week. I experimented with different thicknesses of gauze — double-layered, quadrupled, octupled — to let through different amounts of wax. It worked!

The layers were thicker in the middle and thinner at the edges, meaning that more wax seeped through at the edges, and that therefore less of the second glaze got absorbed at the edges.

Here is the whole plate. It is 6 inches in diameter.

And here is a close-up of the plate. There are large brown shapes where the wax prevented the second glaze from absorption, and there are little blue swirls where the glaze came through the holes in the gauze. The swirls don’t mimic the squares in the gauze exactly, but it’s definitely different from the way this glaze usually looks.

I have a bunch of gauze from IVF #1 left — as I mentioned last week, there were a lot of injections. And I will collect more gauze for IVF #2 soon, so I’ll try some more experiments over the next few months. Stay tuned for future Show and Tells.

8 Responses to “Show and Tell: Infertility Pottery Part 2”

  1. Cara Says:

    I LOVE these! The pots are amazing, but this is breathtaking. What is its future? Do you have a great display stand?

    You know it feels like you are creating an “inside joke” of sorts (but not in so many words) because people will look at your work and say, “Stunning” and you will smile and nod, all the while knowing they have NO IDEA just how stunning and why!

  2. Kristin Says:

    Oh wow…I love the way it looks and knowing why it looks like that makes it even more incredible.

  3. Michelle Says:

    These are gorgeous!

  4. babysmiling Says:

    @Cara: Generally I put all of the pots I make to use, either in my own house or as gifts. I do have a fantastic antique hutch where I display the pieces that I don’t use every day, but most things are in the regular kitchen cabinets.

    I know exactly what you mean about the inside joke.

    Thanks!

  5. Wishing4One Says:

    yet another amazing piece….still waiting to hear if my mom got the vase. shes been out of town, will let you know. you are waaay too talented lady!

  6. Martha Says:

    That is beautiful, I love the variations in the glaze. The background story about using your injection gauze, very cool. Thanks also for your comment on my blog.

  7. Lori Says:

    It’s a piece filled with your creativity and your experience.

    We should have a meal on our plates together!


Please leave a reply

