Show and Tell: Two-Fer

September 21, 2008

This week’s Show and Tell is a two-fer. First, I reveal the prize for guessing the prize for guessing. Or, Show and Tell: Bridge, part 4. Next, I show an alternate prize.

At the last Show and Tell, I revealed the true height of the vase that Lori from Weebles Wobblog, All Thumbs Reviews, and Drama 2B Mama won when she correctly guessed that my Show and Tell about a bridge took place in Budapest. I asked people to guess the height of the vase, and everyone overestimated the size, from 250% to 370% too large.

Wishing 4 One was the closest, and won a vase for herself. However, since she lives in Egypt and mailing breakable packages can be difficult, I gave her the option of a vase or another prize such as a wish. She figured out a way to ship the vase, but I thought I would show you what her alternate prize would have been. First, here is the vase.

That is a glaze that I created myself, and have struggled with for over a year. Sometimes it looks fantastic, and sometimes there are major problems. But, it turned out pretty well on that vase — not the glaze I intended, but still nice. It’s more blue in real life.

One of the alternate prizes I offered to Wishing 4 One was a wish at a special wishing location, since I was on the other side of the world at the time — after all, her blog is called Wishing 4 One. Last month, I wrote a post about different wishes I have made through the years. I did make a wish for myself at this special place, Sensoji, the oldest temple in Tokyo. This wishing area is in the Buddhist temple, but it is adjacent to a Shinto shrine. I bet you can guess what I wished for.

Here is the wooden grate through which you throw your coin before making your wish.

And here you can see some other people making their wishes. Most people put their hands together in prayer position and bowed while wishing, as the woman on the right of the photo is doing.

It is interesting to go as a tourist to a place that is holy to some but not to you. Churches throughout the world where some come to look and some come to worship. Walking up stairs alongside pilgrims who are climbing the hundreds of stairs on their knees. In this case, walking under a giant red lantern, passing through a pedestrian market full of shops, past a Shinto shrine, through a large cloud of incense smoke, into a Buddhist temple. Learning my “fortune” on a lark rather than because I actually believe in what the paper will say. Making a wish without confidence that the act of wishing has any meaning anymore.

To celebrate the first day of IComLeavWe and make it easy for commenters, I will throw out a question: If you had a choice between a little vase and a wish made for you, which would you choose?

20 Responses to “Show and Tell: Two-Fer”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I would take the wish. I have plenty of vases but you can never have to many wishes, especially when comes to wishing for babies! BTW the vase is beautiful.

  2. Kristin Says:

    I honestly don’t know which one I would pick. I guess it would depend on my mood that day.

  3. Rebecca Says:

    I would take the vase as I don’t really think much of wishing. Wishing certainly gives you hope but I don’t really believe someone or something is out there listening to your wishes and making them come true. If you are wishing for something then you do the best you can to make that wish come true yourself.

    Your vase, however, is quite beautiful and would go well with some of the other pottery in my home. My aunt is also a potter so I have lots of beautiful pieces. She even has her own outdoor kiln which she fires up a couple times a year. It’s fun to go to see the kiln opened after everything is done baking.

  4. Jenn Says:

    That vase is gorgeous. I think I’d pick that. (ICLW)

  5. Kristine Says:

    I would pick the vase. I love flowers and love vases.

    Wishes, well, they seem to mostly lead to disappointment. Boy, how jaded does this make me sound?

  6. Malky B. Says:

    I’d pick the vase – very pretty. Being that I’m a religious Jew a Buddhist wishing well isn’t really up my alley. We do have a custom to pray by the graves of the righteous and we can put our wishes and desires in there.

  7. Stephanie Says:

    The vase is beautiful. I looovvvee it.

    But I would pick the wish. While wishes can be quite disappointing at times, we can never stop wishing. To stop wishing is to give up. (And I figure that the more wishes I get the better my chances, lol.)

  8. Martha Says:

    I love the vase, even more so because you made it and therefore it is made with love. I will take the wish please and send my Best Wishes in Return. Thank you for your comment on my blog.

  9. Collette Says:

    The vase is beautiful. I love the glaze. My grandfather is retired and spends his winters in AZ making lots of things for everyone in the famliy. I love seeing the beautiful things he comes up with every year and I especially love finding places for them in my house.

  10. silver Says:

    I love the vase, but I think we need more wishes for peace in this world! (ICLW)

  11. Danielle Says:

    I would want a wish. I’m an optimist, a sickening one. I am always putting a positive spin on everything. So, I would probably wish for something like happiness for EVERYONE. The vase is gorgeous and I would love to be so talented, sadly..I am not!
    -D *ICLW*

  12. Bobbie Says:

    I love the vase, and can’t believe it is that small.

    But, I would love the wish.

  13. samcy Says:

    The vase is stunning, but seeing as I make my own ceramics as well I guess I would choose the wish…and no big wonder as to what I would wish for right now – starts with a “b” and ends in a “y”

    (ICLW)

  14. Nity Says:

    After all your talk of ICLW last time, I joined the conversation. But doubt I can live up to your iron commenter status, especially since I missed Sunday and am having to play catch up today.

    However — despite ICLW, I read your blog anyway — and I’m so impressed that you are sending the vase to Egypt. That’s amazing. It is a beautiful vase.

    I think I’d prefer the vase, simply because I don’t know if I’d wish for the right thing.

    **HUGS**

  15. InDueTime Says:

    Thanks for sharing. Very interesting place for the wishes. My aunt does pottery as well, it’s all so neat to me.

    ICLW, InDueTime

  16. Kate Says:

    Here from ICLW. What a beautiful vase.

  17. mrsamymarie Says:

    I would have to go for the vase. Wishes are nice but not really something tangible.

  18. Cara Says:

    Definately, the wish! Flowers and I don’t exactly work…I try!

  19. Becky Says:

    I’d choose the wish, no questions asked, even though the vase is simply lovely. I love the idea of other people thinking of me and sending me good prayers/vibrations.

    Here from ICLW and I think you’re great!


  20. With a vase like that, totally the vase. Beautiful work!
    happy ICLW!


Please leave a reply

