Scene from a Family Vacation

September 2, 2008

A few days ago, I mentioned the impending visit of most of DH’s immediate family and the many steps I had to take to clear the house of all TTC and infertility evidence.

They are here, and so far (knock on wood) no one has come across anything incriminating.

I have also mentioned in many posts how we have kept IF a secret from all of our relatives.

I just had an interesting conversation in the car with my mother-in-law. She is DH’s stepmother, not his mother. Previously, in comparison to others and on her own merits, I have mentioned his mother in unflattering terms. In contrast, DH’s stepmother is actually great. A little bossy, but great.

Today she and I were in the car, and we had the following conversation.

Step-MIL, wistfully: I had a dream last night that you told me you were pregnant.

Me, in my head: Ack! Okay, let’s see. I am definitely not pregnant right now, so I can just tell the truth, or one particular aspect of the truth. Go for it.

Me, matter of factly: Well I promise you that I am not.

Step-MIL: Oh, I know, I know.

Step-MIL’s overtone, or at least what I wishfully heard as the overtone: I know that you’re not remotely considering children and I should not bother you at all about it and I should be respectful and refrain from bringing up the topic since my cute little comments about how much I would love to have a grandchild obviously will not divert you from your honorable devotion to your career and the fabulous adventures around the world that you and my stepson have all the time and which are not possible for me right now due to my children requiring all of my time and finances.

Me, in my head: Phew. But change the subject before the conversation turns around and starts going horribly wrong!

Me: Of course, if your dream had been about [her 16-year-old daughter who is a possible sociopath], it would have been a nightmare! Ha ha!

Step-MIL: Ugh. Don’t even say that. So anyway, I tried this new recipe for rice pilaf…

Conversation successfully diverted, crisis averted. Only a couple more days of incessant family togetherness to go.

2 Responses to “Scene from a Family Vacation”

  1. Nity Says:

    So we watched Juno on our vacation (for the 2nd time)… and I started crying big time. Not a good idea at all. Hubby recaped, “Maybe this wasn’t the best choice for a movie”. This conversation reminds me of that movie.

    Hope the rest of family togetherness went well!

    HUGS

  2. Murgdan Says:

    I just LOOOOOOVE family get-togethers….and these conversations.


Please leave a reply

