Clean Sweep

August 26, 2008

They’re coming…

Most of DH’s immediate family is about to arrive at our house for almost a week.

Aside from the planning in terms of my work schedule and figuring out ways to entertain them, there is a serious matter at hand: I need to get rid of all of the TTC/IF evidence.

Normally I don’t go to great lengths when guests come over. Some friends know about our IF history, so I don’t care what they see. Most other guests don’t know, but are too polite to go snooping around.

But it’s different with family. Between parents and several younger siblings, our house will be overflowing. That means there will be prying eyes in every room. One of the younger sibs is a notorious snoop with no concept of privacy or personal responsibility. She may be a sociopath, or she may just be a kid. My husband strongly suspects the former.

Everything must go.

Fertility and pregnancy books, hidden in a file cabinet.

Prenatal vitamins, removed from the kitchen cabinet and put into my nightstand. DH’s regular vitamins and my omega-3 pills can stay.

Basal body thermometer, already in nightstand. I haven’t used it in so long, I wonder if it still works.

Ovulation predictor watch, already in nightstand. I wonder if all the times it told me I was ovulating, it was accurate, or it was just trying to make me feel better?

Astroglide, already in nightstand. (Okay, so that’s not actually for TTC, but it is something that we don’t want the kids stumbling onto.)

Syringes and sharps boxes… I guess I’ll put them in a file cabinet. Maybe the one that is labeled Taxes. No kid wants to look in there.

Paperwork from RE. Ugh, there is so much of it. Do I have enough file cabinets for all of this stuff? It took over half an hour to track it all down. Between RE instructions, hospital discharge instructions, billing statements, health insurance statements, health insurance denials, pamphlets… there are literally thousands of pieces of paper.

Computer caches cleared. Incriminating files protected.

And now for the conundrum:
Refrigerated meds. The huge bundle in my crisper includes an unopened Gonal-F pen and over 100 progesterone suppositories in two different doses.

As I have detailed before, after IVF #1, I was staying with family and had to keep my refrigerated suppositories in a cooler bag with ice packs for a week, changing out the ice a couple of times a day. This was fine for suppositories, which don’t really need to be at a specific temperature, as long as they’re not so warm that they start to melt. But the instructions, and the nurses, say that the Gonal-F should be refrigerated. I’m not sure if that’s 100% mandatory, but I don’t want to risk ruining $700 worth of meds, or even worse since I wouldn’t realize that they’re ruined, a $10k IVF cycle. So I need to keep them refrigerated, but I can’t keep them in my refrigerator. What to do?

Here is my crazy solution. I will keep the suppositories in my fridge until just before the family arrives, and then I will do the ice pack thing.

As for the Gonal-F, there aren’t many people around here who know about my TTC, so my options are limited. I certainly can’t keep them in the fridge at work!

And so, I have asked someone else to keep the Gonal-F for me for the week in her fridge. The woman that I mentioned wanting to get to know better last week.

My only regret is that I don’t have the prescription for birth control pills for IVF #2 yet. It would be delicious to leave those lying around for the family to find.

10 Responses to “Clean Sweep”

  1. farah Says:

    good luck clearing out the evidence

  2. Marie Says:

    Can you put your meds in a cooler and then in fridge? Will the family still look in it if you tell them its something personal for your dr??

  3. Raggedy Ann Says:

    Now this has really made me laugh. However, I do understand. I remember doing things like that as well. When I got pregnant after IVF #3 I really wanted to keep it a secret until the end of the 1st trimester. My cousin came for a visit and I especially didn’t want her to know about it. As soon as she walked in the kitchen door she saw the vitamins on a shelf. She said she took the same when she was pregnant, then turned to me and shouted “OMG, you’re pregnant”. I was so angry for having left the stupid vitamins on the shelf. The very last person I wanted to find about my pregnancy ended up being the first. Good luck!

  4. Nity Says:

    I can relate! When my fil and family came to visit, I was massively hiding all our IF info. I don’t think they’re quite prone to be as snoopy as your family. What always works is cover up something with tampons (say in that side of bed drawer)… then people don’t tend to dig too deep. I also tend to hid things in socks.

    Good luck!!

  5. Alicia Says:

    oh wow!! all the preperation you have to do for vistors! I am glad you found places for everything, it really sucks you have to go to all this trouble because of snoopy family members!

    here from ICLW

  6. babysmiling Says:

    @Marie: Telling certain people that something is personal and they shouldn’t look inside is BEGGING for them to look inside! 🙂

  7. annie Says:

    Do you have a neighbor you can stash ’em with? Oh, the sanitizing! I do the same thing, tho usually not enough to clear the fridge. I’ve got a whole crisper drawer w/ bravelle and menopur as we speak. It’d be nice to have that space back again. hmmm….

    from iclw

  8. Karen Says:

    I hope Operation Coverup was a success. Nice job coming up with a solution for the gonal-f. Every idea I came up with involved hiding it in food packaging. Now that would be a surprise for one of your relatives. I hope the week goes smoothly for you.

    Thanks for you comment on my blog ICLW

  9. Murgdan Says:

    Well. You could always still keep the meds in the fridge inside an empty and clean food jar or food box…something disgusting they’d never actually want to eat. You know no one ever touches that nasty stuff in the back of the fridge that you don’t know how long it’s been there!

    Good luck…sounds like a tremendous amount of work!

  10. Shaz Says:

    They haven’t even arrived yet and already I’m exhausted for your part.
    Certainly sounds like you’ve covered all the bases!


Please leave a reply

