Wish I may, wish I might, have this wish I wish tonight

August 25, 2008

A couple of weeks ago Lollipop Goldstein asked for posts about wishes. She asked:

Is there an expiration date to wishes? What is the longest amount of time you’ve ever witnessed between making a wish and having it come true?… But if my four-year-old wishes happened to come true now (will I get that pony?), in the most random, bizarre way (a pony on my doorstep?), would I chalk it up to that old wish? Or was it just a strange coincidence that a pony showed up in my neighbourhood?

I can’t let her question go unanswered. Better late than never.

I’m a one-trick pony (ha ha ha) when it comes to wishes. Prior to age 8 it’s hard to remember what I wished for; I know that I earnestly wished for a Cabbage Patch Doll until I finally received one. I am pretty sure that I also did a lot of wishing that my parents would get un-divorced. Not sure before that.

Through most of my childhood and adolescence, my wishes revolved around boys. Wishes on stars, wishes on birthday candles, wishes on coins in fountains, wishes on wishbones (before I became a vegetarian), all about boys. From ages 8 to 13 one specific boy, on whom I had the biggest and longest-lasting childhood crush ever. Then once I moved on, I either wished about other specific boys, or for love in general. Never once did I wish for a pony.

Then I met DH, and I didn’t need to make any more wishes to find my prince. I instead wished about the longevity of our relationship, that we would be together forever. I don’t recall what else I wished for during the post-meeting-DH/pre-TTC era. I will say that I didn’t have many chances for wishes due to a decrease in the number of birthday cakes with candles, fewer wishing stars, fewer coins in fountains, and a total elimination of wishbones.

A few years later, I started wishing for babies. At first, I simply wished to get pregnant. Then when it wasn’t working, I wished hard to get pregnant. After over 2 years TTC, I finally got pregnant, then miscarried.

Apparently, I was not specific enough.

In the current Barren Bitches Book Brigade selection, Eat Pray Love, Richard from Texas tells Liz about his long-standing prayer, “Please, please, please open my heart.” He is rewarded with open-heart surgery. He cautions, “Be careful what you pray for, Groceries, cuz you just might get it.” Richard was not specific enough about what kind of heart-opening he sought, and I was not specific enough about what should happen after the pregnancy occurred.

So now, I wish to not only get pregnant, but also for it to result in a healthy live baby. Is that specific enough, Wish Fairy?

As for Lolly’s question about expiration dates and wish lags, I consider my wishes for non-DH boys to have expired. If my long-time childhood crush suddenly tracked me down and professed his undying love, I would laugh heartily and then let him down gently. Anyway, I’ve seen his picture as an adult, and he was way cuter as a little boy.

I don’t foresee an expiration date on the baby wish. I will keep going until it is fulfilled.

Now, let’s tally the wishes with their durations and outcomes.

  • Wish for Cabbage Patch Kid: a few months, fulfilled
  • Wish for parents to un-divorce: a few years, fulfilled then unfulfilled, now expired
  • Wish for specific boy from elementary school to like me: 5 years, expired
  • Wish for other boys to like me: 1 day to 1 year, all expired
  • Wish for love: 5 to 10 years depending on how you count; fulfilled
  • Wish to be with DH forever: so far so good
  • Wish for pregnancy: 2 years, fulfilled very temporarily in a cruelly literal fashion
  • Wish for baby: total 6.5 years and counting, still wishing
10 Responses to “Wish I may, wish I might, have this wish I wish tonight”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I think you’re right childhood wishes should be expired. I’ll wish for a healthy pregnancy and healthy live baby for you. 🙂

    (From ICLW)

  2. seriously? Says:

    Here from ICLW. I for you that your most current wish comes true.

    All the best.

  3. Sweetgeorgia Says:

    It’s funny that you wrote this post or more accurately funny that I read this post today. My DH and I were talking about being specific when you wish for things yesterday. We were watching the olympics and Canadian kayaker who was supposed to win the gold in the 1000 meter race finished in 8th place. When he was intereviewed he said that he always wants to surprise people. Well, everyone was sure surprised.

    Like you I have changed my wish from just getting pregnant to getting pg and ending up with a healthy live baby.

    from ICLW

  4. Nity Says:

    I LOVE this post. What a great way to think of things.

    This makes me think of this country song by Garth Brooks http://www.lyricsfreak.com/g/garth+brooks/unanswered+prayers_20058116.html that says, “Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers; Remember when youre talkin to the man upstairs; That just because he doesnt answer doesnt mean he dont care; Some of gods greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.”

    I wonder how many of my wishes didn’t come true and were good things. I can think of a couple that would have led to destructive behavior.

    But I know we have one wish that I’m hoping will come true for both of us!!

    *HUGS*

  5. amber Says:

    Thanks for your comment. I’m wishing for you and with you!

  6. farah Says:

    What a neat post. i loved Eat, pray, Love

  7. mrsamymarie Says:

    Very good idea for a post. Hoping you last wish comes true soon!

  8. Carbon Says:

    Expired wishes, hmm, that’s a very good idea.

    I usually cheat these days and wish for long term happiness. It would be difficult for life to get that one wrong.

  9. andy Says:

    Great post! I hope all your wishes come true soon.

  10. Shaz Says:

    Here from ICLW…..
    6 years on and I’m still wishing……… Although I’m not even sure its what I want after all this time, but I don’t know how to let go of the wish!


Please leave a reply

