Post-Party Report

August 11, 2008

In my last post, I described my anxiety about a big family function that occurred this past weekend. Well, it’s over.

It was substantially less awful than I had anticipated.

I met or re-met many distant relatives of DH, the ones that no one likes as well as the ones that are actually fine. None of them mentioned anything about children, at least to me.

There were a bunch of people around my age, and only one of them had kids. Mostly, she and the kids were in another part of the house for the entire party.

I spent most of the time talking to either people that I actually like, or people that I know well and don’t mind.

I didn’t get a chance to try out the Rumpelstiltskin retort.

I only got one comment along the lines of what I was fearing. It actually came from someone in the immediate family, someone that I like very much but who has made occasional comments about children. She has never directly asked anything about us, just made little asides.

She was talking about a hobby to which DH’s mother devotes a lot of time and energy. She said, “His mom is so devoted to it because she doesn’t have any grandchildren.”

Gasp! Drum roll…

I said, “Actually, that’s not true. Even when her own children still lived in her house, she cared a lot more about that hobby than about them.”

Diversionary? Yes. Mean? A little. True? 100%.

Subject was changed with no freak-out on my part, and the party continued.

Sometimes, not-awful qualifies as a raging success.

3 Responses to “Post-Party Report”

  1. Nity Says:

    Glad to hear it was better than expected. That’s always a good sign. :o)
    **BIG HUG**

  2. Danielle Says:

    *new to your blog* Good for you and your sassy retort! Glad you had fun. Have a good one and take care!
    -D

  3. mdep Says:

    You go, girl!! Glad it was a raging success!


Please leave a reply

