Thoughtful Thursday: Jukebox

February 3, 2011

Thoughtful Thursday

Anyone else a little blue? Oh well, here’s the February Intelligentsia, the people who commented on every Thoughtful Thursday post for the month of January.

#24: Wiseguy from Woman Anyone? — a herculean effort, as this month her daughter was born and then three days later passed away; I so wish that I had a happy blurb to list here instead
#16: Elana from Elana’s Musings
#15: Lost In Translation from We Say IVF, They Say FIV
#13: Jill from All Aboard the Pity Boat
#8: Strongblonde from Strong Blonde
#7: Cat
#6: Ana

Thoughtful ThursdayThe other day in the car, a song came on the radio that I hadn’t heard in years. Maybe even decades. Suddenly, I was a 6th grader again, new to pop music and so eager to fit in. Hearing it in my friend’s mom’s station wagon for the first time, then the next day going to the record store to buy the tape. “Some things are forever.”

Another beloved song came on the radio this week; I still have the CD but haven’t gotten it out in over a decade. As soon as the song started, I was 18 again and had just met a tall, funny guy with a huge smile, already sure that I’d be with him forever. (It’ll be 17 years this month.) “We all want something beautiful.”

I’ve never actually heard it on the radio, but all I need to do is play this song, and I’m back to being 16 with just a bit of angst. “Desire, it’s inside her.”

When I started college, my CD player got broken during shipping, so I could only listen to CDs on my computer’s CD-ROM drive. Despite having brought 300 CDs with me to school, I listened to the same one for the first couple of months until UPS paid for the replacement CD player. I don’t think I’ve ever heard any song from the album on the radio; good thing I still keep the CD handy. “I traveled to a mystical time zone.”

As I’ve written about before, certain songs are associated with infertility for me. With this one, I am transported to the road near my RE’s clinic at the crack of dawn, headed for yet another blood draw and ultrasound. Another non-radio song, but the CD is always in the car and on my iPod. I also sang it to the twins every day when they were in the NICU. “Just like a seed down in the soil you gotta give it time.”

What song instantly transports you to another time, to another version of you?

13 Responses to “Thoughtful Thursday: Jukebox”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I feel so so sorry for Wiseguy and I hate that there’s absolutely fuck all I can do.

    Suede, Beautiful Ones. I am instantly 13.

  2. Tara (TIMO) Says:

    I’m not a music person. Any David Gray song brings me back 5 years to our wedding. And any U2 or REM, , even the new songs, instantly in high school.

    PS- Did you see Mark Kelly is going to go into space. I wish him a good mission.


  3. Paradise by the Dashboard Light. Crazy college days!

    Thanks for the music — you have great taste :-)


  4. I should say that the song came out beFORE I was in college!

  5. Ana Says:

    This one’s hard. I used to be more of a “music person” (as Tara put it, above), but that part of my brain has been shut down in the past decade or so, along with the rest of my creativity!
    I’m glad you mentioned the Counting Crows—one of my alltime absolute favorites.
    I guess my freshman year of college I listened to angsty/depressing songs on repeat for hours. I remember U2 “Bad” being a favorite. That one takes me back. One summer in high school I was obsessed with Soul Asylum’s “Homesick”. And the 80s songs (the pop and the hair metal) always take me back!

  6. Ana Says:

    Had to add this— I absolutely ABHOR that “homesick” song now. I can’t believe I liked it. I think it had something to do with a boy I had a crush on.

  7. a Says:

    Violent Femmes take me straight back to high school! Along with The Cure (Head on the Door album), The Smiths (The Boy With The Thorn In His Side – first Smiths song I ever heard), and U2 (The Unforgettable Fire).

  8. Cat Says:

    This is hard to think of off the top of my head, but these two have come up recently.

    Whichever REM songs were on the radio in the fall of ’91 remind me of the bedroom I created in the unfinished basement of our two bedroom townhouse that we lived in for a few months while waiting to move into the house we were buying. Concrete walls on two sides, cardboard boxes made the third, and the stairs were the fourth.

    Blister in the Sun by the Violent Femmes always reminds me of driving down the highway in Mississippi on the way to Mardi Gras when I was 19.

  9. Mel Says:

    Anything Fugazi makes me think about this particular night where my roommate and I were lying on the sofa and I was trying to gather the emotional fortitude to face my boyfriend. We were all meeting for dinner and I wanted to be anywhere but where I was. Whenever I hear a song, I’m transported back to that sofa.

  10. Elana Kahn Says:

    Oh man, there are so many of them! Anything on Goo Goo Dolls’ “Dizzy Up The Girl” CD takes me back to high school. Ace of Base “The Sign” takes me back to camp around age 11 or 12. Celine Dion’s “My Heart Will Go On” also takes me back to my high school days, but specifically me belting out the song in my living room when no one else was home. :-)

  11. WiseGuy Says:

    Koi Fariyaad by Jagjit Singh takes me back to my college days (and a specific episode at that).

    Then there is Cotton Eye Joe, Turn Back Time and my favourite – No More I Love Yous which make me go back and forth.

    I wish the blurb was different.

    A composition in Raga Bhairavi by Pt. Bhimsen Joshi will always remain a reminder of the days gone by. That is when I discovered the piece and loved it so.

    Pt. Bhimsen Joshi died on Jan 24, 2011.

  12. strongblonde Says:

    i’ve been thinking a lot about this. i’m not sure i can nail any one song down. i can say this: most 80s music makes me think of the long (torturous) drive to my church and listening to casey casem and the american top 40. most hip hop makes me think of high school and college. barenaked ladies make me think of when b and i first got married. david grey (esp his first album) makes me think of my days working on the crew of hot air balloons–we used to blast it as we were in the chase vehicle. tom petty (esp the greatest hits album) makes me think of scooping ice cream in college.

    ….after all of that it’s a blur! i feel like i don’t especially know my music anymore. most of what i end up listening to is either “workout music” or from B’s ipod and i NEVER know what the heck most of that stuff is. honestly. last week i liked what was playing and asked him who it was. he said, “it’s just a little band that does lounge music remakes of popular songs.” what the heck?


  13. There might be a few songs, but no real direct links (I have to think really hard and I think the purpose of your question is to have immediate connections between a song and a certain time/situation), maybe because I do/did listen to pop music, but I’m more a classical girl actually. There is however one piece of music that instantly puts me back on a ship from Sweden to Holland – in the North Sea canal, approaching Amsterdam. We’d been in Sweden with a youth orchestra in October. Just after we left the Swedish harbor, a storm came up – someone fell through a glass door, the lady from the duty free store got some whiskey bottles over her and several cars and trucks on the lower deck slammed into each other (luckily the coach which held our musical instruments was OK). Obviously no-one was allowed to get outside. The food was suddenly free (but there was more need for paper bags) and the ship was now ‘nose in the wind’, facing north, waiting for the storm to subside. The trip was supposed to take 24 hours. After A day and a night, we had moved up one degree in latitude… FInally, I don’t remember after how many hours, the wind calmed down, the ship turned 180 degrees, and we were heading towards Holland again. After 60 hours, we finally entered the North Sea Canal towards Amsterdam. I got out on deck, found a bench in the sun. Put on my walkman, and listened to Mozart, symphony no. 40.


Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

