Perfect Moment Monday: Veteran

June 30, 2009

I have always found my husband adorable. But on this Perfect Moment Monday, he was adorable for being an infertility veteran.

We were watching the Daily Show interview with Mike Huckabee that occurred a week and a half ago (I fell behind on my viewing when I was out of town). Throughout the interview, we had to pause the TiVo at least a dozen times to make points to each other (and at one point, high-five each other). We are even more bizarre behind closed doors than people imagine.

Anyway… Jon asked Huckabee his opinion of IVF — fascinating and bloggable in its own right — and Huckabee clearly had no idea what he was talking about and repeatedly tried to cram the question into something that would fit his talking points. Jon started explaining about infertility and IVF, saying that sperm and egg are combined outside the body, then the embryo is implanted…

“Transferred!” my husband yelled at the television.

I have been in love with this man for a decade and a half, yet he still finds ways to blow me away with his fabulousness.


Perfect Moment
There’s still time to vote for Perfect Moment Maven Lori from Weebles Wobblog for the Most Inspiring Blog Award — have you voted today?

18 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Veteran”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Heh heh…nice. :-)

  2. strongblonde Says:

    It’s in my TIVO, too…i just haven’t watched it yet. :) isn’t it funny how that one little word changes things? ….if only it were that easy to implant an embryo. the 2ww wouldn’t be bad at all!!

  3. Kymberli Says:

    That’s definitely worth a high five! Frank is an IVF vet by way of surrogacy. A couple of weeks ago in his biology class they were working on genetics and genetically-inherited conditions. His professor said there was “some sort of testing they can do on embryos to weed out the affected ones” and Frank was able to tell him that it was called PGD *and* he could tell him what it stood for and even that it was done on the 3rd day past retrieval.

    Our men. :o)

  4. Ana Says:

    Awww. Gotta love the men. I saw that episode yesterday and was screaming at the TV myself during that segment. Seriously? Huckabee didn’t know what IVF was??? Though I’ve learned more than I ever wanted to about the details recently, I think I always had a rudimentary idea of what “IVF” stood for, and that it was a treatment for IF. implant/transfer mix-up aside, I HEART Jon Stewart.

  5. Lavender Luz Says:

    That’s simply awesome. No wonder you *heart* your husband.

    Imagining you two high-fiving each other makes me smile.


  6. EXCELLENT!!!! I’m not sure my husband would know to shout at the screen like that. Kudos to him!!

  7. Kristin Says:

    Woohoo…your hubby rocks!

  8. peeveme Says:

    I LOVE this! I’ll have to go find that video. I think it would be entertaining..or infuriating.


  9. A perfect moment for sure!

  10. Nina Says:

    It’s always nice when suddenly they show they really were paying attention. And retained something useful from it all, which can only be described as a bonus, since we all know, they may have “heard” but rarely were they actually “listening”. Bless their hearts.

  11. Cara Says:

    Oh Yeah…there is nothing better than a man who knows his infertility terminology!!

    What a great moment!

  12. Carrie Says:

    Well, now you’ll have to keep him. :) What a good guy! We need more IF vets on the male team!

  13. loribeth61 Says:

    Bwahahaha! I think I love your husband too, lol. ; )

  14. nancy Says:

    That ~is~ total fabulousness!!!

  15. samcy Says:

    That is my total pet hate – “they implant the embryo’s” – NO!!! IF IT WAS THAT DAMN EASY IT WOULD NOT HURT SO MUCH WHEN IT FAILED!

    Sorry clearly I needed to get that off my chest ;)

    xxxx

  16. Delenn Says:

    I love it! Sounds like the same rapport my husband and I have.

  17. jill Says:

    Awesome! I want to high five your husband too! haha

  18. Photogrl Says:

    I think I love your husband, too ;)

    Give him a high 5 for me.


Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

