Perfect Moment Monday: Revisionist History

March 2, 2009

Note to aspiring Intelligentsia: You still have a couple of days to submit your Thoughtful Thursday comment. I will finalize the February Intelligentsia list on Wednesday night.

And now, the Perfect Moment.

My mother has a broad-stroke knowledge of politics, to put it mildly, but in many ways I consider her opinions to be the pulse of the nation. Less than a year ago, she referred to Obama as “that black guy.” Now, almost every day she brings up some Obama news — never having anything to do with the actual job of being President.

  • “Obama was on TV today.” (She says this almost every day.)
  • “Did you like Michelle Obama’s yellow suit from the inauguration?”
  • “Sasha and Malia’s hair always looks so nice.”
  • “Sasha always wants her dad to carry her. She is too old for that. Why is she such a baby?”
  • “Malia was on TV wearing a pretty coat. I saw a little boy today who wasn’t wearing a coat at all! What kind of parent doesn’t put a coat on a little kid? I always made you wear a coat.”

This weekend, she brought up a photo she’d seen of several presidents together. I think she must be referring to the meeting at the White House in January.

presidents

Mom: I saw a picture with all of the presidents. Obama, Bush, Ronald Reagan…
Me: Ronald Reagan is dead, Mom.
Mom: Are you sure?
Me: I’m sure he’s dead. I’m not sure if you saw a photo of him.
Mom: Oh. Then Obama, Old Bush, Young Bush, and Hillary’s husband.

It is a great day for feminism.

Perfect MomentI’m pretty sure that Lori from Weebles Wobblog can name most of the living presidents.

14 Responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: Revisionist History”

  1. strongblonde Says:

    :) this really made me giggle this morning!

  2. Miss Conception Says:

    Your mom makes me laugh!

  3. Shelby Says:

    This post brought some great LOLs. :P Hillary’s husband was my favorite by far. I bet your Mom and my Mom would get along famously.


  4. Sure I can!

    Sleepy, Sneezy, Doc, Dopey, Grumpy. Not necessarily in that order.

    Pulse of the nation…that’s true enough to be scary.

  5. Kristin Says:

    Great story…and I love Lori’s names for the past Presidents.


  6. HAHA! Your mom and my sister would get along GREAT! Have a GREAT Monday!

  7. Brenna Says:

    That IS a perfect moment! Oh, I love it–”Hillary’s husband.” Priceless!

  8. Martha Says:

    This is Great, just Great! I just wrote about my mom too for Perfect Moment Monday, but your mom is PRICELESS. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Shinejil Says:

    LMAO! Hillary’s husband, indeed! You mom’s got it right: Though Bill’s the better politician, she’s the real brains in that couple.

  10. Ellen Says:

    Your mom sounds a lot like mine! Thanks for the comment :)

  11. samcy Says:

    You go Momma! Thanks for the giggle.

    xxx

  12. Victoria Says:

    You’re mom cracks me up! Thanks for the laugh!

  13. clio Says:

    your mom is pretty funny. It’s great to have people in our lives who keep us mindful of what the general population might be thinking. ;)


  14. you have to thank your mom for the giggles I just had!


Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

