Show and Tell: My Consolation and a Winner

December 28, 2008


Before I announce the winner of the Creme de la Creme contest, I would like to show you my own consolation prize.

Most nights, after giving myself my IVF shots, I like to console myself with a sweet snack. In so doing, I am breaking the “no eating after 10 p.m. rule” usually followed in our house. When we established that rule, we did not foresee my repeated stabbing with needles.

Here is an example of a consolation snack: 1/4 of a brownie. You may recognize the plate as part of the series that I made using gauze from IVF #1. I don’t use it in the normal dish rotation, but it makes a fine plate for IVF consolation.

Brownie

And now, the moment you have been waiting for: the winner of my Creme de la Creme contest…

AngryCanRN!

I am delighted that she is the winner. Not only is she wry, hilarious, and strong beyond belief, but she will soon be donating embryos to Dora. A piece of pottery is comically tiny in comparison to that kind of gift, but here it is.

Bowl

I must include the disclaimer that I did not make this bowl, but I know the person who did. She is a professional potter, and one of my pottery teachers. I will hopefully be able to make a bowl this nice in the near future. I was getting close, until a certain pottery calamity derailed my progress. I hope to resume soon and make some replacements for everything that was destroyed, as well as many prizes for future contests.

Congratulations, AngryCanRN!

Amusingly, AngryCanRN actually submitted multiple entries for the contest. The first one was the correct one, but when I took my sweet time announcing the winner, she assumed that her first guess must have been wrong and tried again. But, since the first guess was correct, I will count it. I’m not sure if the lesson here is to go with your instinct or to try try again.

And so, if you are keeping track, that means that Show and Tell: Bridge was my favorite post this year (and therefore, in the history of the blog to date). Only a few days until we get to see everyone else’s favorite posts at Creme de la Creme. In the meantime, you can enjoy the rest of Show and Tell.

7 Responses to “Show and Tell: My Consolation and a Winner”

  1. ^WiseGuy^ Says:

    Well congratulations to the winner! And what a great gift there! Save a piece of that brownie for me too. :)

    And AngryCanRN, this is what I have to say to you – WOW!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Nice prize, and nice plate and treat!

  3. christinambw Says:

    Thanks for the abundance of great information on my blog, Cassandra!! I really appreciate all of the insight.

    Love the pottery…it makes me want to take a class!

  4. Kristin Says:

    What a cool bowl…and I’m so glad she won also!

  5. Cara Says:

    Hooray Angrycanrn!!!! I’m so glad she won.

  6. JuliaS Says:

    What . . . ??!! Distracted by the sight of chocolate, did you announce a winner??!!

    Congrats to angrycanrn – I like reading her too!

    Lovely bowl, lovely plate, yummy brownie and hope you are soon back in the business of potting, or sculpting or whatever it is you call it. :0)

  7. Dora Says:

    Woohoo! Well, you know I think Angrycanrn ROCKS!


Please leave a reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

